Doug's Killer Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This recipe is incredible! I used all the ingredients as written. I wouldn't change a thing. I am throwing out my favorite recipe that I have used for 30 years and replacing it with this one. You can't get any better than this! Oh, I did put it in a crockpot on low for 8 hours instead of on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
We both loved this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very good. Loved this sauce. I added a pinch of sugar to combat the acid and used ground sweet Italian sausage but other then that I changed nothing. Yummy good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I cut the recipe in half and add less red pepper flakes and it makes the BEST spaghetti sauce I've ever had. Plus I still have enough to freeze for another meal. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Love this sauce it is so easy! I used it for spaghetti, but I cut down on the tomato sauce to 1 29 oz. can. I like my sauces more thick. The amount was perfect for one pound of pasta. I did use 1 tablespoon of crused red pepper flakes and will cut that amount back to 1 tsp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSIMS001

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Tastes just like spaghetti sauce should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I have used this a number of times over the years. Depending upon what I use it for, I tweak it. For spaghetti, I add 1/2 lb of Italian sausage and 1 cup red wine, nixing the red pepper flakes. For sloppy joes, I make it a bit soupier, not cooking it down so much. For chili, I add back in the pepper flakes and add toasted chilis and chili powder. It uses are as limitless as your imagination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Gonna be generous and go with 5 stars. Ok, here we go: first of all, the taste is great. I have some comments, why does the recipe state to divide the onions and garlic? I can't see what you do with them later that would require dividing them. Also, I like to have diced tomatoes in my sauce (personal preference) so I wish that this was different. I think that a large onion should be specified. I think the red pepper flakes were maybe a bit much for this sauce. Overall though, great recipe and yes, very versatile! Easily customizable to suit the individual; spices can be tweaked. This recipe has been out there since 2002 and only 2 reviews..... why??? Great recipe that needs to get more exposure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
i found it to be versitile, and i could freeze any leftovers for another day. i have made sloppy joes with this one and it is quickly becoming a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dundalk, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
I have used this sauce a lot for spaghetti, sloppy joes, you name it. I love it!!! Thanks for posting it! Cara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States