Doug's Easy Applesauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was simple and delicious. I made with a variety of apples from a local orchard. Some were softer varieties and others were harder varieties which made for a nice chunky sauce. I doubled the recipe, but really wish I would have had enough apples to triple or quadruple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I loved this applesauce and I made 3 crockpots full with the apples I had. Went to my local farm and asked if they had "seconds" of their apples from their orchard. They came back with a huge bag of "seconds" which were just slightly bruised or just not pretty enough to sell. I tell you I had at least 40-50 apples of quite a few varieties and there was nothing wrong with them....AND the best part is that is was only $10 for the bag! I did reduce the brown sugar to 1/4c and the cider to 3/4 c. I did jar and process the applesauce as I wanted to keep it in my pantry and gift it to others. Thank you for an awesome recipe as I have never used brown sugar and cider before in applesauce. Way better than white sugar and water. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I remembered my grandmother making applesauce, with me in tow. I have been trying to remember how she did it. This recipe comes the closest. I did not have apple cider (wrong season-Spring). I used Macintosh apples, brown sugar, a dash of nutmeg, and an ingredient I forgot I had. Cane syrup. That really stepped up the flavor a notch! I read in one of the other reviews that someone used an immersion blender. i used that and it worked wonderfully!! My grandmother's applesauce was always pink, so I did not peel the apples. Love this basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The best! All of my family loves it. Using apple cider (Honeycrisp apple cider is fantastic) instead of water like most recipes makes all the difference! I use a little less lemon juice than called for. This is THE recipe for us. I simply quarter the apples (no peeling or coring), cook till soft (takes longer than 20 min.), cool in fridge, then send through food strainer/food mill. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Wonderful recipe Doug! I've made this several times now and plan to make it many more. I've used regular apple juice, and it's still fantastic. I puree it in the blender when it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Delightful! My family gets excited when Mom starts making applesauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I filled a big crockpot with sliced and peeled Apples, didn't chop them. Used all the other ingredients and cooked it for about 3 hours on high. Did not messure the other ingredients, used my own judgement. The Apples sauce was just right for my taste. I froze the sauce in plastic freezer bags. So far I filled up a big crock pot 3 times and plan to make more. THIS IS THE BEST APPLE SAUCE I EVER TASTED. USE WHATEVER SPICES SUIT YOUR TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Delicious! This is a lovely applesauce and easy recipe. I left the skins on the apples and used an immersion blender to blend it at the end so that the consistency was right. I also cut the sugar by using a couple of tablespoons of honey, and just a tablespoon of brown sugar. Even with this change it was still nice and sweet. Next time no need for the brown sugar at all. Good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Excellent, easy to make. I used a mix of Gala and Macintosh, just happened to be what I had on hand. Did increase both the cinnamon and sugar to suit my own sweet tooth. All of my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Normally I don't change recipes on here since I like to make them as written and THEN tweak if necessary...BUT I didn't have apple cider. So other than using apple juice in place of cider and leaving out the sugar entirely, I made this as written using Gala apples. FAN-FREAKIN-TASTIC applesauce. I also made a plain batch w/o cinnamon but with the apple/lemon juice and it's just as good. Great recipe - you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Rush Howard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Easy Apple Strudel

This delicious dessert looks and tastes fancy, but whips up in minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States