Doughnut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I made them with oil instead of shortening, and while they came out great, they definitely need to bake longer than 20 minutes! If you use oil, then add another 15 minutes to the baking time. :] Also, spread the tops with a little butter afterward; it makes the cinnamon-sugar stick beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Delicious! These muffins really do taste like doughnuts! We made them on Valentine's Day, so we swirled a bit of red food coloring into the batter, and added red sugar crystals to the top. Even my older daughter, who doesn't eat a lot of sweets, ate these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Yummo. I agree with other reviewers to brush with butter before rolling in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
These were good but should be called a Snickerdoodle Muffin instead...got my hopes up for a cake donut flavor to no avail. I will probably make these again with some tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is an excellent muffin recipe, the key to getting the sugar topping to stick is to dip the muffin tops in melted butter as soon as you take them out of the oven, THEN dip them in the sugar topping. When you do that they are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MKAnthony
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
If I could give it 4 1/2 stars I would. They were delicious, and extremely easy to make. Before I made them I read the other reviews and saw that most people did not think they tasted like doughnuts. So I didn't tell my younger siblings what they were called. They were very easy to make, and I only made one change. When ever you had cinnamon sugar to something that is already baked, you ahve to have butter first, otherwise the cinnamon sugar doesn'st stick. I had two bowls, one with melted butter and the other with the cinnamon sugar. When the muffins were out of the oven I dipped them in the butter and then in the cinnamon sugar. These muffins are rather crumbly, but their good taste makes up for that.I only gave it four stars because they should not be called "Doughnut Muffins" the truth is they do not taste much like doughnuts. They taste more like cake then doughnuts. Very nice recipe, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKAnthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These muffins were so delicious. I did not think that they tasted like doughnuts, but were very sweet anyway. I followed the recipe exactly. For those of you who said that the muffins did not rise; you probably used baking soda instead of baking powder like the recipe calls for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
As far as taste goes these were very good. Mine stuck to the well sprayed muffin pan so maybe next time I will use the paper cups. I added about 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg to the batter to get more of a cake donut taste.I tossed what was left of the muffins in a paper bag with the cinnamon sugar in it to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Anyone who is surprised that these do not taste like doughnuts has ZERO understanding of cooking! For one thing, doughnuts are fried. These are doughnut-like in flavor, as the name suggests, and delicious. The best thing about them is that the ingredients are on hand in almost any kitchen, so I often make these when I'm behind on my grocery shopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The muffins were excellent! The only thing I did differently was I used brown sugar for the topping instead of white. My family just loved them, I made them last night and I only have one left!! I will definitly be making these again and again! Also they are so quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States