Doughnut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
The kids love these, so easy to make. I used oil, they still turned out great. I added a dolop of jam to the middle. Voila, jelly filled donut muffins:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Tasted like a yellow cupcake with no icing. Not awful but not enough flavor...maybe a crumbly topping would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The flavor was good, but the middle completely fell in for some reason. Also, I greased the muffin pan really well, but they just wouldn't come out without being destroyed. At first I thought it was the pan, but I've used it many times, and never had a problem with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
excellent recipe! however, i sprinkle the cinnamon/sugar mixture on the top of the muffins before baking... it makes a nice crisp (not too crisp) edge around the rim of the muffin.... VERY good! :) made it three times in two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by northernMEchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Kids love them and they smell amazing when they are cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Just made a batch of these... I didn't have any ground cinnamon though, so I used almond flavouring and topped with sliced almonds. They look - and smell - delicious. Waiting for them to cool a bit so I can try them! UPDATE: Just tried it and its really good. A little on the sweet side though... next time I will cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Very good! I didnt have any shortning so I substituted with vegetable oil. My kids LOVED them. Ill be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie&Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I have not tried THIS version of the recipe, but can tell you that if you are looking for something that tastes EXACTLY like a cake doughnut (including the texture), this is not it. Cake doughnuts use NUTMEG in the recipe, giving them their signature flavor. My recipe uses only 1/4 tsp nutmeg in the batter (which will be stiff), no cinnamon. Bake muffins WITHOUT topping, allow to cool for a minute, then brush tops with melted butter and roll top in a mixture of POWDERED sugar and cinnamon. My kids beg for these on a regular basis, and that is really saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Did not like. Very bland. The only thing that made them edible was the cinnamon sugar on top. They definitely need more cinnamon or some vanilla or something. Will not make again. Very disappointed because I LOVE doughnuts. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States