Doughnut Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by missMila
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
I actually used six donuts, no orange zest, no raisins but added chopped nuts. I used the water bath and it ended up having to be baked about an hour. One family member said way too sweet, the other has eaten half of it in one day!! It was a fun recipe. Easy. Creative. Kinda Paula deen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I grew up with bread pudding made with fruit and nuts by my mom. So now I made a few tweaks for my chocolate and cinnamon roll living sons. Used coconut oil spray for my pan, tore up stale old Krispy Kreme glazed donuts, topped with white chocolate and dark chocolate chips, and used cinnamon (no nutmeg) and vanilla and imitation butter flavoring. (No almond or citrus rind). I did bake it in the water bath and this is a doubled recipe, so in a pyrex 9x13 glass baking dish. It soaked for 25 minutes on my counter before baking for 1 hour at 350. Topped each serving with whipped cream - and now a new generation knows and loves bread pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
It was good, but just didn't really impress me. It's not that it didn't taste good, it just wasn't anything special. It needs *something*, I just haven't figured out what that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Used day old donuts and it was really yummy. Sweet enough so you don't have to add extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I didn't use dried fruit, almond extract or 2 T sugar. Didn't use hot water bath. Doubled the recipe and made a powdered sugar glaze to dizzle over the top after baking. This is soooo good! A great way to use up leftover doughnuts or the ones that are a day old at the store and on sale. Everyone always wants the recipe to this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by William Hamilton
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I had some glazed doughnuts that went stale and looked online to find what I could use them for rather than throw them in the garbage. After finding this recipe I realized I had twice as many doughnuts and only one can of evaporated milk so I just doubled everything and added half of a salted caramel latte. I also under cooked it about 10 mins since I like bread pudding on the soft side. Thank for posting the recipe, it turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
My husband loves to hit the discount bakery rack at Meijer but he often buys too much to eat before it's inedible. I used 2 nutty doughnuts and 2 cinnamon rolls. It was absolutely delicious. I didn't add orange because I didn't have any. I also didn't do the water bath, I just baked it covered for about 75% of the time. I can't wait to get old doughnuts again. It was so moist and delicious! What a cheap, easy dessert with minimal prep! So good with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabechef Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This wasn't bad but a waste of perfectly good stale donuts. To freshen up stale donuts, zap them for 10 seconds on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiger Didi
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
super easy to make, love the less sugar aspect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I've waited several months to make this because I wanted to serve it for Christmas, and it definitely met my expectations. I bought a dozen Krispie Kreme glazed doughnuts, which is the best of the best in my opinion. I used all 12, so I tripled the recipe, which was perfect for a 9x13in baking dish. I followed the recipe exactly, omitting the optional sugar because I didn't think it was necessary, and it was wonderful. It actually wasn't as sweet as I thought it would be. It cooked beautifully, and the appearance was quite attractive as well. I usually add a glaze to bread puddings, but I didn't for this recipe, and I don't think it needed it. However, if you want to, I think it would be good too. Great recipe! I may have to always use doughnuts from now on. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States