Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Easy to prepare. I easily made 12 hearts for Valentines Day. I probably could have made 10 more from the left over dough. Mine didn't puff up but I baked them at 250 degrees for 3 hours. Important to know: Do not use glossy acrylic paint. It would not adhere properly. The regular acrylic paint covered nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We tried these twice and ended up with very puffy ornaments. The third time we used hot water, kneaded very well for about ten minutes, and let sit on the counter for an hour before baking. We took the temp down to 300 and baked them for almost an hour, and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was a great inexpensive project that produced hours of entertainment for my 8,10, & even 18 year-old daughters!! I bought a pack of six poster paints for $1 and used gift packaging ribbon to hang them. Make sure you use a straw to make the holes. If you use a tooth pick the hole will not be big enough and will close up while baking. I read a lot of reviews and baked them at a lower temp for over an hour. They still felt slightly soft when I took them out of the oven, but once cooled, they were hard as a rock. Some of them still puffed up. It turns out that we actually like the look of the ones that puffed up better. I will say that when I took these out of the oven, I thought this project was a bust. They were really ugly (lol), but once we got the paint on them, they were absolutely adorable. I am very pleased with the way they turned out, and we are going to make more this weekend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My trick to lessen the "puffiness" was to reduce the heat to 200 degrees. I also turned them over & gently pressed them flat after about an hour. My best advice would be to make them a day before you have your decorating party, so you can have them ready for the little ones & they won't need to wait. All in all, lots of fun to make & decorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I took advice from others and turned down the temp to 200 -- it took about 5 hours, but they were done with no puffing. I even dropped one on the tile floor as I was taking them off the cookie sheet and it didn't break. My only other helpful critique is that this is a HUGE recipe. Enough for an entire preschool class at least. We made 20 ornaments, and still had about a third of the dough left. I just tossed it because I'm already not sure what we're going to do with 20 of these things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
They occasionally bubble up. We decorated them with cookie die and water before hand with some and used paint on some when they came out. They looked pretty. Note: Do not use sugar on these for decoration. It does not turn out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I didn't count how many I made, but their cute! Forgot to use warm water so not sure about that difference. I used food coloring in them, Got a marbled look to some. They are Lavender and Pink. Tomorrow's more like Green and Red. One question: Storing the extra dough since only flour, salt and water I hope just a air tight bag would be okay for awhile. What's the suggestion for storage beyond the next few days? Dough is protected for the night at least. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Fun and easy to do with my 3 yr old. However they puffed up a lot. I think I'll take advice from the others and cook at a lower temperature for a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I love making these, and giving ornaments is nice but you can do other things too of course! I put the hole in the bottom and made some markers for a friends garden. I had some old wire hangers so I cut a piece from that to put through the hole, it works great. I am going to add the cinnamon, its a great idea. I have used food coloring and some I paint. I also use the polyurethane to seal them and give them a nice glossy look. I may try the different flour next time for more color options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LezKaySkinsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Easy and Fun!! My 4-year-old loved helping me make decorations
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States