Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This recipe is perfect...I had to add a touch more water but otherwise it's great... To get rid of the puffiness just place the ornaments on a sheet pan and then place another sheet pan on top during the baking process...keeps them flat! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christiana White

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Made this today and they turned out great! I set my oven to 250 and baked them for 1½ hours. They didn't puff up at all and they didn't burn. Made 17 round ornaments that are about 1/4 inch thick. I also used a straw to make a hole for ribbon or twine for hanging. Going to decorate them tomorrow with my toddler. This will now be my go-to recipe for salt dough ornaments. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Perfect measurements for holiday fun with the kiddo! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3crazies
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Recipe is fine but cook time and temperature are completely off. I would cook around 200 for a longer time. Mine turned out puffy and brown. Ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Dry and crumbly! I googled other recipes and this one has way too much flour. Should reduce flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by anna
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
We really enjoyed doing this recipe. Next time I'll cook them on a lower temperature because of puffing but all in all it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Easy to prepare. I easily made 12 hearts for Valentines Day. I probably could have made 10 more from the left over dough. Mine didn't puff up but I baked them at 250 degrees for 3 hours. Important to know: Do not use glossy acrylic paint. It would not adhere properly. The regular acrylic paint covered nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We tried these twice and ended up with very puffy ornaments. The third time we used hot water, kneaded very well for about ten minutes, and let sit on the counter for an hour before baking. We took the temp down to 300 and baked them for almost an hour, and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was a great inexpensive project that produced hours of entertainment for my 8,10, & even 18 year-old daughters!! I bought a pack of six poster paints for $1 and used gift packaging ribbon to hang them. Make sure you use a straw to make the holes. If you use a tooth pick the hole will not be big enough and will close up while baking. I read a lot of reviews and baked them at a lower temp for over an hour. They still felt slightly soft when I took them out of the oven, but once cooled, they were hard as a rock. Some of them still puffed up. It turns out that we actually like the look of the ones that puffed up better. I will say that when I took these out of the oven, I thought this project was a bust. They were really ugly (lol), but once we got the paint on them, they were absolutely adorable. I am very pleased with the way they turned out, and we are going to make more this weekend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My trick to lessen the "puffiness" was to reduce the heat to 200 degrees. I also turned them over & gently pressed them flat after about an hour. My best advice would be to make them a day before you have your decorating party, so you can have them ready for the little ones & they won't need to wait. All in all, lots of fun to make & decorate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States