Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Worked well. I baked them at 300 in a convection oven. I make these every year with my many kids. It is their favorite tradition. I have tried many recipes. These worked well in that there was not much poof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I gave this recipe 3 stars because after about 15 minutes the dough became unworkable and we had to throw half of it away. If you're going to make these roll em out and cut them quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b-unit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANVASWRITER
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I wanted to do an "under the sea tree" for my youngest grandchildren, they love the ocean, so I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the basic dough recipe here, I'm cutting out the shapes using "coloring" templates I found in the net, and painting then varnishing with Damar, using a thin sea green ribbon to hang them, and using teal and blue tiny light on a real tree, with some sea green bows. I uploaded a photo of the first coat of paint on some Beluga whales and some sea blue candy canes. I love this. I have done so many themed trees since my now 40ish darling daughters were small. They made their own then, I made them now for the wee ones, they think they are "magical". And they care extremely cheap to decorate an entire tree. A little flour, a little acrylic paint, and some ribbon and it's a go. Thanks so much for posting this recipe so others can find their inner artist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
had fun making these but they bubbled up on me i rolled them out to 1/8th of in. thick and some still bubbled up can you tell me what i did wrong. i think they are still cute. but hubby made fun of them lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
dont heat for a full hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessa629

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I used a similar recipe but with more salt. 2 cups flour to 1 cup salt with 1 cup warm water. It was very easy to make and rolled out very well. My kids loved making and decorating these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was really fun to do with my son! I halved the recipe, but still needed about 1 cup of water. I also added green food coloring to the dough, as we were making Christmas trees. I used a straw to cut the hole, and a circle cutter to cut a hole in the center because I'm gonna put a picture of the little guy in there to tie onto the wrapped gifts for my family. I baked mine @ 275 degrees, but they only took like 25-30 minutes in my super-hot oven. They sort of started to curl up, but nothing too major. All in all, a great project that may just become a yearly tradition! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Absolutely perfect for a weekend ornament project for my kids and their Bumpa. Spot on with measurements and just super wonderful to work with. Watch the baking time, one hour was a little too long. 40 minutes was just right for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leahmcc311
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Made these with the children today. I used a straw to make the holes, baked at 250, for about an hour...the results were NO puffing at all. They started to crack so I put a pan of water in there like you do for a cheesecake, and that stopped them. They turned out SO cute! They made about 8 3-4" ornaments, with the recipe halved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahmcc311

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Great, easy recipe. I got about 100 small ornaments out of this batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baby Kristina
Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

How To Make Pie Dough

See the tricks to making pie dough from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States