Dough Ornament Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Over all, the recipe works well. I did need to add more water to keep the dough soft. I use small eye screws with a dab of craft glue as the hanger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Very dry dough, and hard to work with. Wasn't smooth, but rough and bumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was a huge success in my preschool class. It was a very easy, forgiving recipe. We did need a little bit more water than the recipe called for. I found that if the dough is a little wetter/sticky to begin with it turns out smoother. We just sprinkled a little flour on it and kneaded it until it felt right and rolled well. Also, we used cinnamon to roll it out to give it a great smell. I am sure that part of the flour could be substituted with cinnamon, but we did it just for the experience while we were making it, because I am going to seal them and they won't smell anyway. They baked very hard, which is good, but they might be a little fragile. I was only concerned because we made them with 3-5 year olds and when we paint them I fear that they might break if dropped. One thing that I wasn't sure if I liked, was that they definitely do puff up and I cooked mine at 300 degrees for 50 minutes. In some ways I do like the 3d effect, but a few of the ornaments cracked, so I suggest making a few extra just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Mine didn't puff up at all. Due to the fact they were a little thicker then I would of liked, I lowered the heat to 200 and left them in for 2 hours. This worked perfect for me. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I will definitely be using it again :D xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
If you have a dehydrator, use it! I did and I have the best looking salt dough ornaments ever. Took about 3 hrs on the fruit setting. Zero puffing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Brookville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe is great except I recommend drying these for a night or two depending on thickness, if you prefer flatter, smoother results. If you just can't wait, drop the oven temp as low as possible. They will expand a little in the oven and sometimes bubble. I added a 1/2 cup cinnamon and a little extra water because I love cinnamon. Another tip someone gave was to use a straw to make your holes, it works great. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe. I rolled out the dough and made letter ornaments for each child in my childrens' classes. My one special tip would be to use food coloring after cutting the shapes and making the hole with a straw. I put one drop of food coloring on each ornament and immediately rubbed it in with my finger. A couple of my fingers are now stained, but it was well worth the vibrant colors!! I then cooked at 250 for several hours (flipping after an hour or so). So fun. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is a great recipe for salt dough. The puffiness that other reviewers mention is why I prefer this recipe to others with more salt (as some have recommended). My 2 year old son makes gingerbread men and other figures that do not look nearly as cute when they stay flat. The puff from baking gives these little guys real dimension and character. We'll keep making these for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was perfect. Came out exactly as expected. My kids (4 & 6) had a blast! We made prayer hearts for valentines day - painted them, wrote names on them and will pull one out every day to pray for someone. Did some teacher gifts too. Very cool! Easy and no mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I tried it 2 times and both batches are to dry to roll out and breaks apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States