Doubly Delicious Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I've preferred to make it a little less sweet and more peanut buttery. The measurements were just a little bit different. For those ppl who were a little bit dissatisfied with this one, I would recommend trying 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1cup creamy peanut butter and 1cup crunchy peanut butter. It will be a bit less sweet, but I think more peanut buttery. I sometimes add a handful each of pb and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Good and peanut buttery, for sure! Between the peanut butter chips and double the amount of peanut butter to shortening (it's usually even/steven) these are not short on peanut butter flavor. Just made slight modifications of adding a little vanilla, using traditional shortening and creamy peanut butter. They're very good, but not outstanding, and because they were putzy to roll into balls because of the plentiful chips getting in the way I'm pretty sure I'm not likely to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This is the most awesome PB cookie recipe! I usually make things right to the letter but this one I do cut back on the white sugar to 1/2 cup and I add chopped peanut pieces to it as well. TRES YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHill

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Great base recipe but I took some cues from previous reviews and tweaked a bit. I used 3/4 c. of each of the sugars and 1/4 c shortening and 1/4 c butter. With using the butter and shortening it helps these cookies hold longer without getting hard. I made some and gave them to some friends and am already getting requests for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
These are beautiful, tasty, delicious cookies. I had no pb chips and I used real butter instead of shortening. I couldn't imagine they would have turned out any better though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Love the flavor of these! Will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe! I ate half the dough before it even made it to the oven! If you're not getting intense peanut butter flavor, the problem is probably your peanut butter, not the recipe. Brands like Jif and Skippy are *terrible* for cookies. You want natural, no additive peanut butter. Freshly made if you can get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
Really good cookies. Not as peanut buttery as I would have liked, but have a good flavor. The amount of chips used is a bit too much - I suggest cutting the amount of peanut butter chips in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Loved these peanut butter cookies. I add peanut butter chips to other peanut butter cookie recipes frequently, just to up the peanut flavor. The only change I made was to use 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening since I don't have butter flavored shortening. This one went into the cookie keeper file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
It's a good recipe, but immensely sweeter than it should be. Some serious adjustments to the sugar quantity must be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States