Double Tomato Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
This is the BEST bruschetta recipe I've ever tried, and I've tried a bunch of them! Here are a few tips from someone who has made this recipe at least a dozen times: 1) Once, I couldn't find sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil and used the dry kind. Perhaps it was my imagination, but I think I lost some of that distinctive sun-dried tomato flavor. 2) The recipe suggests that you could use dried basil if you're in a pinch. That's true, but use it ONLY if you're in pinch! Fresh basil (I chiffonade mine) is part of what makes this recipe so absolutely delicious. 3) The recipe calls for shredded cheese, but I like to buy bulk mozzarella and slice it into pieces that are about 1/8" thick, and that are sized to fit onto the bruschetta. That keeps your cheese from falling off the sides, and it creates a nice "blanketing" effect over your tomato mixture that keeps it from falling off when you're eating it. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1880 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Delicious. My friends felt there was something missing and next time I plan on adding some fresh cut Oregano and doubling the garlic. I also plan on cutting the amount of olive oil used in half to only 1/8 cup. From the suggestions of previous reviewers I decided to brush olive oil onto the bread, broil it for a couple minutes, then add the topping. The cutting of the tomatoes did take a bit of time and I think substituting a couple cans of diced tomatoes would be fine. Just be sure to use FRESH herbs! I will be adding this receipe to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
901 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Simply the best Bruschetta I have ever made! It got rave reviews from everyone over the holidays. I would definitely suggest letting it marinate over night - the longer the better. I also took someone's suggestion to put the cheese on the bread and bake it first - then everyone can put on their own amount of bruschetta. Everyone agreed that was the better way to go. This really is easy to make - I also definitely suggest using fresh basil and buying the bread the day you are serving it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
482 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Love this recipe. Have made it many times since finding it online... There is a reason this recipe lists roma/ plum tomatoes as the tomato of choice. They are meatier than a beefsteak, early girl, or some of the other varietals available. Using romas will eliminate some of the wateriness that other reviewers have mentioned. If you have the opportunity to make this a day ahead, it gives the flavors a chance to marry and allows the garlic to mellow somewhat ~ so MUCH better! Absolutely great as it is, but decided to try adding a smidgen of anchovy paste to it on the third time. It sent it over the edge from outstanding to sublime!!! Thanks so MUCH for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
WOW...these were AWESOME!! I've never made tomato bruschetta before and these I would definitely make again. Tried them out on family this weekend before I take it to a party next week. Got rave reviews! These are the things I changed: 1) Used 2 cans of petite diced tomatoes rather than cutting up tomatoes. (Tasted great and much easier!) 2) Our grocery store didn't have sun-dried tomatoes so I used sun-dried tomato spread...worked great! 3)Definitely brush the bread slices w/olive oil first and throw in oven for 5 min at 400 degrees. Bread was not at all soggy, yet not too hard either 4) Use both parmesan (fresh) and mozzarella on top. 5) put back in 400 degree oven for @5 min till cheese melts. Very good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
really great. I didn't put it on the bread and add the cheese though since it would be sitting out for a while at a party. I put it in a pretty bowl with the toasted bread nearby and the guests served themselves. It was just as good the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Great tasting recipe and very easy. I didn't have any sun dried tomatoes so I skipped it but added a dash of sugar to sweeten the Balsamic vinegar. The vinegar is definitely key to the recipe. Also, if you just grill your garlic bread and add the tomatoe mix,cold,(no cheese) it tastes just like Papa Vinos. Either way it's excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
“Only 2 things that money can’t buy, that’s true love & home grown tomatoes”. I like to eat this as a dip. It's fantastic! Thanks so much for the recipe! I will definitely use it often. ****Update**** I have made most of the bruschetta recipes on this site & this is still my fav! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Everyone at my dinner party loved this. I didn't change the vinegar or garlic. I did notice the next day (leftover snack) the flavors were a little to strong. This should be prepared the day of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
I would not reduce the amount of balsamic vinegar or garlic - tasted great the way it was!! Got lots of raves at the party I attended. Very simple to make, but people will think you slaved over it! Instead of 6 tomatoes, I used 5, and I substituted dried basil for fresh, and served the tomato mixture cold, with no mozzerella on the broiled baguette slices. Before I broiled the baguette slices, I also spread a bit of garlic butter onto the bread. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,857) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Chicken and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Grilled chicken is tossed with spinach, feta, and tomatoes and served on toasts.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States