Double Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I've made this a bunch of times...it's a great alternative to plain tacos. The most amazing part about it is the leftovers the next day...making tex mex breakfast burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
We loved this recipe! Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caitperszyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
These were tasty double tacos! I used the super size hard taco shells and the fajita size flour tortillas and they were a perfect fit. Much more filling than a typical taco. Thanks for sharing your recipe, cwoods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
So yummy! We loved the extra crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was very good. I liked the contrast between the soft flour tortilla and the crispy corn shell inside. It was easier to eat then a regular taco since when the shell broke during eating, none of the filling fell out. I used onion powder instead of fresh. I tossed the water, the uncooked beef, onion powder, and the taco seasoning all in at the start and it made a raw meat soup but once it cooked down, it was so delicious. I used a lean beef so no draining of grease was required. That's the secret to getting the super fine texture adding the liquid from the start and breaking down the meat. I'm going to fix this again, it was a huge hit here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Yum! Couldn't get many takers on the double taco at our taco bar, but those that had it loved it! Our people tonight just didn't have taste buds for anything fun and unusual! Will serve it next time to a more appreciative group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Never thought to stick tortillas to taco shells but it worked nicely. We even used regular shredded cheddar cheese instead of velveeta. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Great recipe and a fabulous combination of crunchy and soft! I followed the submitter's advice for the cooking instructions... I used lean ground beef and for the seasoning I used "Seasoning For Tacos" from this site. I'm not the biggest fan of Velveeta, but my husband loves it and this really worked for this recipe. This was so good with all the fixin's - chopped tomatoes, shredded lettuce, picante sauce, and sour cream! Thanks for a great recipe cwoods81!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I don't know why allrecipes does that, change your submitted recipe. I've seen that on other recipes before and the submitter has to come on and restate the original steps because someone in the allrecipes kitchen or editing department thinks it should be otherwise. Your recipe sounds great, I am definitely going to try it very soon. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I submitted this recipe but the editors must have changed it. I never cook the taco seasoning and water separate from the meat! I brown the meat, drain it, and add the seasoning/water in with it. No need to dirty an extra pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

HERDEZ® Lobster Tacos

See how to make sweet, rich lobster tacos on the grill.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States