Double Quick Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
The onion flavor was too overpowering and the rolls were dry. Did not work for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
These were delicious! I made these exactly as directed, except I doubled the recipe, and they were so good and very tasty! Although mine were done 5 minutes before the stated time, and ended up being a little too dark since I didn't watch them close enough. My fault, but they were still very good, and every single one was polished off in no time. I'm just going to check mine earlier next time, that's all, because there will be a next time, easily, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MY9HUNGRYKIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I have to say that I was skeptical about this recipe, but I was mistaken! Very easy, very tasty. My family loved these dinner rolls. From the reviews, I thought they would turn out like a biscuit. They were light and fluffy. Dough is thinner than what I am used to, but do not let that discourage you. I doubled the recipe, worked fine. I made the dough a few hours before dinner, I let it rise for 20 min, then stuck in fridge. (it continued to raise in fridge). 30 min. before dinner, I stuck dough in muffin tins (sprayed with pam). Put in oven and poof, they came out beautiful. I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Isleton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I had trouble with these rising, but I'm pretty much positive thats my fault-next time I'll measure out the yeast perfectly instead of just throwing in a pre-measured packet. Other than that I wanted healthier/less elaborate rolls that would go better with my dinner so I replaced the potato flakes with oatmeal, subsituted the white sgr with brn, replaced the veg oil with applesauce, omitted the onion powder, and replaced one cup flour with wheat flour. Despite my touble with these rising they turned out AMAZING. I couldn't believe how well they turned out despite everything. They were sweeter than I expected and my guests left asking for more. Suprisingly light and very complimentary to any dinner dish-will become my go-to for dinner rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I liked it because they were fast. I also used quick rise yeast. I used garlic powder vs onion and added dried parsley. It wasn't bad- but probably would have been better for a sweet type roll...wonder how to change that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
These are not the best rolls ever but as far as a good but fast recipe it's great. I made them a few weeks ago and didn't follow directions, kept adding flour until they were more like reg. roll dough and my husband compared them to unleavened bread. (They really weren't that bad but weren't as soft as my reg. dinner rolls) Today I followed the recipe but reduced the onion powder to about 1/3 tsp since the onion flavor really didn't go well with our main dish. They were easy, light and yummy. Will definitely make again but won't through out the reg dinner roll recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These were ok. I like rolls a little more light and soft. These are heavier and do have a different texture, but they're still good and great when you need something quick. Unfortunately there were plenty left after dinner. I tried one the next day and it was just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Beaubien Povich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this to go with Shrimp Chowder from this site and they turned out wonderfully. I let the yeast sit in the warm water for about 10 minutes before continuing with the recipe. I doubled the recipe and got 26 rolls out of the dough. Baked for 14 minutes; will bake a little longer (2-3 minutes) next time. I used 1 tsp. garlic powder in place of the onion powder (picky eaters). Overall an easy and delicious recipe I'll be using over and over again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Love this recipe for quick dinner rolls. I don't usually have mashed potato flakes on hand so I use oat bran instead. I also use 1/2 whole wheat flour to add some fiber. And I do without onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This is the best and the simplest of bread rolls. I increased the flour by 1/2 cup and they are perfect for clover rolls. I make them 2-3 times a week to have with dinner. yummmmmmmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laramars

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rimrock, Arizona, USA
Living In: Manitou Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States