Double Peanut Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
It's not bad, but needs more peanut butter, and sugar, and a splash of vanilla. But it's not bad. Just not powerful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I tried this recipe and first it didn't turn out right because it wasn't smooth enough and was more like a cookie dough and burned. second time i added more milk and it had no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This yielded a small amount in my opinion, I will double the next time. I made in 2-9 in round cake pans which lead to me overcooking them which made them dry. Overall the recipe is good. I took the advice to use 2 cups instead of 3 on the frosting. It was still too sweet to me so I added maybe another 1/4 cup of creamy peanut butter and a 1/2 tsp or so of vanilla, and a tbsp of butter. Which cut the sweetness down. I plan to make again soon and hope the adjustments help. I think the cake itself may need some vanilla pudding in the batter or extract. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akesha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very,very good recipes very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
The key to any peanut butter cake not being dry, is not overmixing! you have to add all ingredients, peanut butter last! as it will get tough & make the cake dry! I actually add a little more moist ingresients such as butter or milk to keep it flowing. A recipe is a guide, dont be afraid to make adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Cake was too dry for my taste, but the icing was delicious. I slightly modified the recipe by using 2 cups of confectioner's sugar instead of 3, but keeping all of the other ingredients the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gaarafangirl54
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Made for my sisters birthday. Flavor is ver powerful but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaarafangirl54

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
The cake had a lovely texture, but it didn't taste like peanut butter at all. I frosted it with chocolate rather than the peanut butter frosting called for. I likely won't try this again, but if I did, I would experiment with increasing the amount of peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
The cake was prefect - had just the right amount of peanut butter taste, but I think for the icing next time I'll reduce the amount of powdered sugar. Other than the excessive amount of sugar in the icing, this cake was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisareen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Providence, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I did something wrong when I made this recipe. The cake was in for the longer time frame and a toothpick inserted in the middle came out clean, however the middle was extremely squishy and very obviously not done. The outer edges were not bad though. I recommend reducing the temp and cooking a little longer. If I had kept it in any longer the cake would have been very dark and possible burnt on top. What we did eat was pretty good, not as strong peanut butter taste as I like, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States