Double Orange Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I, too, was on a quest for Panera's orange scones, and this recipe hit the spot. I've never had such perfect scones. I omitted the mandarin oranges altogether and glazed the finished scones in an orange juice + powdered sugar mixture. My next variations will be to add cranberries to the orange scones and to do another batch just lemon and basil flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
They were okay. I'm going to try making them again but using all purpose flour instead of the whole wheat (as some other reviews suggested). They were pretty dense and the taste of the wheat flour overcame the orange even though I went a little heavier on the oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I didn't much like the idea of orange chunks in the scones, but I liked the idea of orange flavor. So I juiced an orange, grated the entire peel into zest, and mixed the zest in with the dry ingredients, and the juice went in at the end with the wet ingredients. I also whipped a quarter cup of nonfat plain yogurt into the egg mixture, and it gave the scones a nice light texture. The dough was really sticky, but they baked up nicely. I also used 1 cup whole wheat and 1 cup white whole wheat flour. I used margarine instead of butter, and Splenda instead of sugar, and neither change affected the outcome of the recipe. I skipped the orange butter, and instead spread clotted cream and honey on a scone while it was warm, and it was fantastic! It was good luck that I came across clotted cream too. They don't carry that in many stores, and because it goes bad so fast I'll just have to eat a lot of these scones to use it up! PS - These are so wonderful that they're worthy of being my mother's day gift to my dear mama. She's going to love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
We didn't care for the pieces of orange, but overall this is a wonderful recipe--would be good with so many different types of dried fruits. Will make again, substituting dried cranberries, blueberries, etc. for the orange pieces. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This recipe was a total bust for me. I followed the recipe exactly but it didn't taste like any scone I've ever eaten. The taste of baking powder completely overwhelmed the delicate orange flavor. Now I have a sink full of dirty dishes from the zesting, juicing, and kneading and no scones worth eating. Very disappointed. P.S. The birds wouldn't eat them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was my first attempt at making scones. They are super easy to make and my son actually did most of the work for his health class for homeschooling. I did use 1 1/4 Cup of whole wheat and 3/4 cup all purpose cause I ran out of it. I also added orange flavering and a little less orange zest (not a huge fan of zest). After we have already made them now and am reading reviews I see many people used double suger so our may not be as sweet! Oh well they are for his healthy lifestyle for health. We will double next time and see if they are better. Ours are just now coming out of thhe oven now. We just put a homemade orange glaze ontop and tasted them.. Very good! This is a keeper. I would not use as much whole wheat as that makes it dryer but great flaver. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Wonderful wonderful! I've made these many times and they're always a rave! We didn't like the orange butter though, we use regular butter. Good baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natacha Pellerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
These scones were tender and moist. I used 2 c all-purpose flour and doubled the sugar. I also skipped the mandarin oranges but I think I'll try them next time. I made a glaze from 1/4 c of vanilla frosting (melted) and mixed w/ a little fresh orange juice and orange zest. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
LOVED this recipe! Used 1 cup of frozen cranberries instead of the chopped oranges....beautiful! This was my first time making scones, and I was surprised at how fast easy it was...SO proud of myself! I will definitely use this recipe to experiment with different flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These were really good. I used cut up oranges instead of the manderin and it came out delicous. I doubled the sugar half brown and half white. Even my picky kids like these. Instead of the butter I made an orange zest/ orange juice and confect sugar glaze for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States