Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Everyone liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evetsangel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Ok LOVE this pie. The modifications are 8oz of cream cheese and 2 Tb sugar with no milk (along w the whipped topping). Freeze it after first layer for about 10 min. Put 3/4 cup cold evaporated milk. and 1 and 2/3 packages of vanilla pudding mix. Then mix it together until smooth. Then put 3/4 of the 15 oz can of pumpkin in it(not cup the can). Put 1/4-1/2 t pumpkin pie spice. and 1/4-1/2 t cinnamon. Do this and your pie will be perfect. Not runny or too sweet, not too much filling and will taste pretty much like pumpkin pie. For the rest of the pudding mix and canned pumpkin you probably could make a mouse out of it but haven't tried it. Just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this last November for Thanksgiving, and it was really, really good. I think I accidentally added either too much whipped topping or too much cream cheese, but it still turned out really good. I will definitely be making this again next year. Besides that mistake, the only thing I did differently was making my own graham cracker crust because it's so easy (you just melt some butter, mix it with graham cracker crumbs, and bake for a few minutes), and I find that most of the premade crusts taste like cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My family, who "does not like pumpkin pie", LOVES this recipe. I just made a couple of changes...I used a full 8oz bar of 1/3 fat cream cheese. I added about a tsp of Vanilla and a little extra sugar to the cream cheese/cool whip mixture. I used all spice and ginger for the spices in the pumpkin mixture. Additionally, I added 2 "globs" of cool whip to the pumpkin mixture. It makes it alot fluffier and a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for my son who is allergic to eggs and nuts. The whole family raved about it. Even better than the apple pie for Thanksgiving dessert! I made it two weekends later, and it received the same reviews. Very creamy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Kids said this was the best pumpkin pie ever. Must be the combination of the pumpkin and cream cheese layer. I went through two pies in the blink of an eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I made pumpkin pies for a dinner and a had a little bit of pie mixture left over. So I made a regular baked pumpkin pie that was lacking in fullness and when it was cooled I topped it with the cream cheese mixture. It was delicious and loved by everyone in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
very, very good. The spices made the pie so yummy! It's like upside-down pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Photo by Mollie
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
It is so easy to make and taste great! I chilled each layer separately and use 8 oz pkg of cream cheese, a whole tub of whipped topping, 2 large pudding mix boxes and the large can of libby's pumpkin pie mix, saves money and already comes with the spices. It makes enough for 2 pies, one for our extended family's thankgiving gathering and kept one for my family. Everyone loves this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made this pie for dessert on Thanksgiving. It turned out really well and tasted good. Everyone who had a slice thought it was good. Very easy to make. I did take the advice of the other reviewer and put it in the freezer to firm up the bottom layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States