Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Wonderful! This pie won my church's pie contest, this was definitely a winner with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This pumpkin pie is the best EVER!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I've made this several times after finding it on AllRecipes.com two years ago, and everyone in the family loves it. I use 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice in place of the spices listed which makes it a little more convenient. Tastes just like a lighter and airy pumpkin pie without the baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
I usually never bake, but I made two of these pies for thanksgiving for two groups of people. Everyone loved it - even my sister who normally doesn't like pumpkin pie. I only used 3/4 cups of milk, and 80% of the suggested amount of cream cheese and whipped cream (low fat for both kinds)and pumpkin puree. It was just the right amount to fill the pie crust and the sweetness was just right. Refrigerate the first layer for atleast 1 hour before putting the second layer over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This is a great recipe - a much lighter version of a pumpkin pie. The instructions may be a tad confusing. The instructions for the 1st layer just say to mix the cream cheese with the milk, but they should specify to mix with the 1 tbl milk. When the pumpkin layer is mixed with the pudding mix, then the full cup of milk is added. Perhaps this is why some people had trouble with this layer being runny??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
CHILL THE CRUST BEFORE ADDING THE FIRST LAYER.AFTER YOU HAVE ADDED THE FIRST LAYER, CHILL AGAIN BEFORE ADDING THE SECOND. THIS HELPS THE PIE TO SET AND WILL HELP AVOID MIXING OF THE LAYERS AS MENTIONED IN OTHER REVIEWS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This was excellant - I brought one to work and people loved it...tastes like a traditional pumpkin pie but with a nice suprise from the cream cheese and whipped topping as the base layer. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
Even after 7 hours, my pie never 'set' but it was still tasty (although mushy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Wonderful taste! A nice change from the standard pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. Save a little of the whipped topping to spread on top and then sprinkle with sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I have come across this recipe many times and decided to give it a try. I love pumpkin pie the old fashioned way and was dissapointed when my "double layer" attempt backfired on me. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but my bottom layer never set...so they both just kind of smushed together. I definitely don't discourage anyone from trying this...quite the contrary...this recipe has received many good reviews!! I'm sure I messed up somewhere along the way, but good luck to the rest of you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States