Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
CHILL THE CRUST BEFORE ADDING THE FIRST LAYER.AFTER YOU HAVE ADDED THE FIRST LAYER, CHILL AGAIN BEFORE ADDING THE SECOND. THIS HELPS THE PIE TO SET AND WILL HELP AVOID MIXING OF THE LAYERS AS MENTIONED IN OTHER REVIEWS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
{12/2007:An update to my review: I have simplified this for me (and hopefully you!) I use half and half for the 1T and 1 Cup (instead of milk) AND, here's the kicker ...instead of having the three spices (cinnamon, ginger and cloves on hand) and the solid pumpkin...I use instead PUMPKIN PIE MIX and am done faster to boot! I was out of the size of pudding this recipe calls for and only had the larger vanilla pudding size (I think it's the six cup version...I used the whole version of that, and it turned out fabulous!!! This pie is so rich and creamy. YOU'LL LOVE IT!!!} I had this recipe before (from another source) and it got lost, so glad it was here to be found! This recipe is so user friendly...a no-bake pie..what could be easier! The flavors are so rich and distinct. Cheesecake meets pumpkin and they hit it off wonderfully. IF you like the layers to be very defined, I recommend putting the cream cheese layered part in the refridge right away and while you mix the pumpkin/top layer. This pie has even won over some in our family that weren't pumpkin pie fans to begin with! Yep, it's that yummy! Enjoy and Happy Thanksgiving to YOU! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIEFCOOKJULIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midway City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This is a great recipe - a much lighter version of a pumpkin pie. The instructions may be a tad confusing. The instructions for the 1st layer just say to mix the cream cheese with the milk, but they should specify to mix with the 1 tbl milk. When the pumpkin layer is mixed with the pudding mix, then the full cup of milk is added. Perhaps this is why some people had trouble with this layer being runny??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Overall a great recipe. I've found the following tweaks help it to set-up more firmly, more quickly. This solved any runniness for me. 1. To the cream cheese/whipped topping add 1 TBS chilled evaporated milk. 2. With the pudding/pumpkin, use 1 cup CHILLED evaporated milk in place of plain milk. 3. After pouring the cream cheese/whipped topping mixture into the crust, put in freezer while you make the pumpkin topping. 4. Thaw the whipped topping before using by putting in refrig overnight. This helps keep it firm without it being runny as can happen when thawing in a microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
this is my all time favorite. My husband hates pumpkin pie, but will only eat this pie I make for him. I've been making this pie for any occasion for the past 2 years and it never gets old. I do use a little more cream cheese to help thicken the bottom. I also put it on the bottom of the crust than store it in the freezer for about 10 mins. I don't use a cup of milk for the pumpkin layer. I only use about 3/4 of a cup because I find that it makes it runny. I do use a mixer to blend it till it is thicker, than I place the mixture in the fridge for about 10 mins. Than place the pumpkin on the top. The longer you chill it the better it is in holding its form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophiemac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
Very good! This is also a going to be a permanent fixture at the holidays! The cream cheese layer was light and fluffy, and the pumpkin was delish. If you're in a hurry, I reccomend popping it in the freezer after you've put the cream cheese in the pie crust so it hardens and it's easier to put the pumpkin on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
I really love this and have lots of requests for it. The only thing I do different is substitute half and half for the milk. It really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I have come across this recipe many times and decided to give it a try. I love pumpkin pie the old fashioned way and was dissapointed when my "double layer" attempt backfired on me. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but my bottom layer never set...so they both just kind of smushed together. I definitely don't discourage anyone from trying this...quite the contrary...this recipe has received many good reviews!! I'm sure I messed up somewhere along the way, but good luck to the rest of you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Very good! I didn't use a crust at all because my husband, son and my mother are all diabetic. I just prepared the first layer as directed using low fat ingredients and spread it in a dish. For the second layer, I used 1% milk and sugar free butterscotch pudding. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I have made this several times after coming across this recipe years ago! It's great! Chilling the crust and layers, as suggested, does work a lot better as other reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States