Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I read all the reviews and there were alot of mixed reviews. I did all the things people said to do, to make the pie better. I froze the pie in between layers, used less milk, and after 8 hours in the fridge, the pumkin layer was still runny!! I don't know how you keep it from this, but I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I give this recipe two stars because of taste which was ok, however the pumpkin mixture was kind of lumpy and it definitely needs to be refrigerated for at least 48 hours in order to serve a slice of pie otherwise you end up with a pile of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by averee2moon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I am not aloud to enter my family's house on Thanksgiving without 2 of these in tow!LOL! I do however use "French Vanilla" instant Pudding in place of plain vanilla & I also add a bit of "nutmeg" along with the other spices...both add a little bit extra flavoring to this easy to make & already delicious recipe!! YUM!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Great pumpkin pie recipe. I used one package or vanilla pudding and one package of pumpkin pudding thats always in the stores this time of year. I think I will try reducing the milk to 3/4 cup so it sets firmer. I also took the 4 oz of cream cheese and beat it together with 1/2 C confect sugar then in another bowl I beat 1/2 cup heavy cream to a whipped cream consistency. Then folded that into the cream cheese mixture . spread it into the pie shell and chilled it first before adding the pumpkin filling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I would like to note that this was created long ago in some test kitchen. I have been making this pie since I was 10 years old (1990). My mom and I found the recipe in a Family Circle. It is a hit though and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n0rthernlitegurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This recipe was okay, but nothing special. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My family loves this! Even the ones who don't like pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Everyone liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evetsangel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Ok LOVE this pie. The modifications are 8oz of cream cheese and 2 Tb sugar with no milk (along w the whipped topping). Freeze it after first layer for about 10 min. Put 3/4 cup cold evaporated milk. and 1 and 2/3 packages of vanilla pudding mix. Then mix it together until smooth. Then put 3/4 of the 15 oz can of pumpkin in it(not cup the can). Put 1/4-1/2 t pumpkin pie spice. and 1/4-1/2 t cinnamon. Do this and your pie will be perfect. Not runny or too sweet, not too much filling and will taste pretty much like pumpkin pie. For the rest of the pudding mix and canned pumpkin you probably could make a mouse out of it but haven't tried it. Just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I made this last November for Thanksgiving, and it was really, really good. I think I accidentally added either too much whipped topping or too much cream cheese, but it still turned out really good. I will definitely be making this again next year. Besides that mistake, the only thing I did differently was making my own graham cracker crust because it's so easy (you just melt some butter, mix it with graham cracker crumbs, and bake for a few minutes), and I find that most of the premade crusts taste like cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States