Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I had a rather unimpressive experience with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving this year and we loved it! Pretty easy and it didn't take up the oven when I needed to use it for so many other dishes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choojy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit based on other reviewers comments. I used 8 oz cream cheese,2 tbsp sugar, the topping as listed, and no milk. Chilled the store bought crust, then put the first layer in then put the pie in the freezer while fixing the second layer. The second layer I started with half of the pumpkin and half and half - not milk, then played to get a good texture.... ended up with 3/4 can pumpkin, the 2 packages of vanilla pudding, 1 tsp vanilla, a 1/2 to 2/3 cup of half and half, 2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2-3/4 tsp nutmeg, plus a couple of globs of whipped cream topping. This made a nice spreadable but thick layer with a spicy pumpkin taste. Brought it to the office, told folks it was in the fridge, and I have been stopped repeatedly with compliments. I have been told I have to make it again for Christmas... :) Not really cheesecake, not pudding, I called it pumpkin cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
so creamy and not too sweet. I used fresh pumpkin that I had roasted the day before. The small pumpkin yielded enough to make 3 pies. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I was looking for a cream cheese/pumpkin pie and was thrilled to find this. I brought it in for a pot luck and it was a hit. I used french vanilla instant pudding though. My husband loves it and I am sure I will be making it again. The fact that is is a no bake pie and can be made in advance with no worries, even better. I did bake the crust for 8 minutes just to firm it up. I have had them crumble and fall apart in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Yes, we have tried it; my bride makes it every year at Thanksgiving as one of the dessert choices and it's absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark R. Hagood
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I have been making this recipe for at least 15 years! It's always such a hit! I usually have to make 2 pies since 1 is never enough, they always want more! Great tips on here in the reviews....my tip is that I use "french Vanilla" flavored pudding, adds a little extra yumminess to it & I also always get the graham cracker crust that says "2 extra servings", it gives the pie fillings a little extra room to settle into! I also add a little nutmeg to the spices, but shhh, don't tell anyone!!;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Have been using this recipe for many, many years! Agree that once the cream cheese and whipping cream base is mixed that you refrigerate it for at least an hour prior to adding the pumpkin layer. Also will add -- 3.25% homogenized milk and 1 3/4 cups of pumpkin filling works well in this recipe which will give you more than enough if using a pre-made 9" graham cracker pie shell. As you will have excess filling left over use it to make at least ten to twelve small pastry tarts. Tarts: Bake first and let cool. As you will need extra cream cheese filling; cut ingredients in half and prepare the same way as you did for the pie. Line baked tarts with the mixture and refrigerate. Add excess pumpkin layer on top. Refrigerate as well until use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. The cream cheese layer made this a unique pie for Thanksgiving. Not your traditional pumpkin pie. I was asked for the recipe by several people. Best compliment you can receive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolobtexas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States