Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Good, easy no-bake pumpkin pie. Next time, I would recommend putting the pumpkin on the BOTTOM and the cream layer on the top, as this would be much easier to keep the layers from mixing. Pumpkin layer is thick, so it's tough to spread on top, even if you chill the crust and cream layer first, as I did. For those that thought the cloves were too strong, maybe substituting pumpkin pie seasoning for the other seasonings would suit you better? I still liked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I first came across this recipe 4 years ago! It was a HIT and I make it EVERY YEAR!! I added a lil something special to the crust and I do agree with the suggestion to cool the crust before you layer the rest on....but it's a MUST HAVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
One of my favorites. My mother always made this for Thanksgiving and my birthday (which is right around Thanksgiving). When she passed away I started making them myself. Everyone that I have had try it loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was a really nice twist on pumpkin pie. I don't even like pumpkin pie, OR whipped cream, but I ate most of it myself! It was nice to have something that tasted a lot like pumpkin pie without having to bake it. I'll make it again I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I make this for everyone, the guys at my husbands work ask me to make it all the time. It is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hermiston, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I am not a fan of regular pie crust or pumpkin pies. This is the only pumpkin pie that I will eat. My fiance is the same way. This recipe is perfect. I have had trouble with the filling being runny, however, I have learned to use more pudding mix than the recipe calls for, this helps the mixture to set better. I also use,instead of solid pumpkin and adding the spices to it , I use the easy pumpkin pie mix made by Libbys, It already has the spices added to it. This saves a little time and also tastes great. Those of you that have had trouble with this recipe being runny and not setting properly, do not give up this is a great pie. Keep trying, it will be well worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I did not have a problem with it setting but found the pumpkin layer to spicy. I gave it a 3 because my family did enjoy it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My mother has been making this for years and handed the recipe off to me. After years of making "runny" pies I have finally perfected it. The secret to making it not runny is to use regular cream cheese and whipped cream. Using fat free or reduced makes the pies runny....probably because of the less fat. So my word of advice is use the regular stuff and skip the reduced/non-fat items. Using the regular items I no longer have to chill the 1st layer. Good luck to all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coleman, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
the flavor was toally there, but it turned out real runny and was unable to serve it at thanksgiving. I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
My family raved over this one. I made it gluten free for us by using GF crumbs for the crust and then followed the directions exactly. Wonderful pie. We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States