Double Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good, but not amazing. I used one whole pumpkin, cut and steamed in the microwave in portions and pushed it through a sieve to get all the stringy pieces out. That part worked out really well. But I felt like the cream cheese layer was not solid enough to hold the weight of the pumpkin layer. Perhaps because I didn't use the canned pumpkin? Anyway, it still got great reviews for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I had a large group for Thanksgiving this year, and about half of my guests thought this lacked spice and flavor. I loved the creamy texture. I don't think I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Great!!! My family loved it! I will be making this pie all year round!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I was really excited about this recipe because it LOOKS so good. I followed the recipe exactly and it was the least touched pie on the table. The bottom cream cheese filling is good, but the pumpkin part wasn't. Maybe if you used a more traditional pumpkin pie filling it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Z.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very easy, and very yummy!! I also used Choc pudding one time. Quick and easy - Great for a potluck. One time I put pecans and carmel on the very bottom, then the layers, and topped it with the cool whip, and more pecans and carmel. I called it Turtle Layer Pie!!! YUMMY - I used both the shortbread crust and the graham crust, both are great. I do prefer the shortbread crust with the choc pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Have been doing this pie for years. It's a family favorite. I sometimes I'll add a thin layer for finely chopped Pecans on top of the cream cheese layer after it sets & then drizzle caramel on the top after slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Fantastic and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
sorry we didn't care for this, the bottom layer tasted like whipped cream and nothing else. the pumpkin layer was okay though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dade City, Florida, USA
Living In: Moneta, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
not only was this pie fun to make it was easy. this was a great pie my daughter who does'nt like pumpkin anything ate it and loved it i changed it a bit i left out the ginger and cloves,thanks for this recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I am not great in the desert catagory but when I made this, I was getting high fives! This is so light and the flavor is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

This rich and creamy cheesecake is a great alternative to pumpkin pie.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States