Double-Layer Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I have been making this pie going on 3 years now in place of regular pumpkin pie and it is always a hit and my husband requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I am not a big Pumkin Pie fan but this was delicious. Also, much easier than the traditional version. My 13 year old daughter made this and she's not very patient in the kitchen so it didn't look as pretty as the picture, but after tasting it she decided when making the pie next time she'd try to do it justice and make it look nicer. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Amazing dish! I love this pie! But I found that the recipe makes way too much for one pie filling. I can easily make 2 pies with the same ingredient amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I love this recipe and make it almost every holiday for the past 5 yrs. My husband hates pumpkin pie, but will only eat it like this. A few changes I made to make sure the top layer doesn't sink into the bottom: 1. I use the whole 6oz block of cream cheese and I also add an extra 2 TBSP of sugar to it. Since this recipe tends to make more, I use the larger Keebler Elf 2 extra serving graham cracker crust (then I don't run into the problem of having too much). After putting in the bottom layer, I chill it for about 10 mins or less so it thickens. While it chills I start on the top layer. Just spoon in a little bit of the pumpkin pie on top of the bottom layer, a little at a time. Be gentle so the two layers will stay. Don't worry if your not successful in making the pretty layers the first time, you will get the hang of it and will be able to tweak it and the recipe in the future to make it work!! Also, in lieu of 2 TBSP of pumkin pie spice, I just use 1 1/2 TBSP of it and 1/2 Tsp of cinnamon because for some reason I think I can taste too much ginger in my pumpkin pie spice. I may just be crazy! When cutting it, I wipe the blade of the knife each time I make a slice. The first piece is always a doozy getting out, but no worries, it all goes down the same!! Since making this pie at least once a month (5-8 during the holidays) I have never went back to traditional pumpkin pie in at least 5 yrs. You will not be disapointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Not very good. Pie was runny and fell apart even after being chilled overnight. Would not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was amazing. I did not use the pumpkin pie spice mix; rather, I used cinnamon, ginger and clove separately. I am not a fan of the traditional pumpkin pie (texture thing) - this substitute verstion is one that my whole family endorses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I had the opposite problem of the other reviewer, there wasn't enough of the cream cheese layer. I also didn't like the pumpkin pie spice and would use different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Easy to make and a great pie! I use the larger pie crust. I have made this pie for years and it will be a huge hit this Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
very easy and yummy too. I made it with a group of children. They loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I make this every year, it's fantastic. After trying this recipe, I am always disappointed in a plain ole pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States