Double Layer Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I have made this pie many times and it's always a big hit.I do use a little more sugar in the peanut butter layer then what is called for because I think the peanut butter and the cream cheese seem to overpower the rest of the pie.The little bit more sugar seems to balance it out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I am not sure where I went wrong. I followed the recipe, but this pie was not what I was expecting after reading the reviews. We found it to be edible and that's it. I guess it's just personal preference, but we each ate one piece and the rest has been in the refrigerator for a few days. I guess it's time to get rid of it by now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Based on another review, I used a regular pie crust instead of the graham cracker. It turned out wonderful! Just came from Thanksgiving dinner, there were 18 pies there - and this was voted the best! I will definately make again. Yes, it is rich, a sliver goes a long way. I covered it with cool whip and chopped up reese cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCFW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
My Great-aunt Hank used to make this "to die for" pie. Of course her's was more of a complicated masterpiece w/ homemade everything, but, one year while searching for something for the pumkin, sweet potatoe pie haters, at my Thankgiving table I ran across this simplified version and it's been a crowd pleaser ever since. I now only make 1 pumkin, 3 sweetpotato, and 3 of these. (Great Grandma's sweetpotato is still numero uno, even if I have to use a frozen pie crust.) I garnish w/ some whip topping in a pastry bag, a very thin, tiny drizzle of chocolate sause, and toss on a few peanut butter chips, or Resses pieces and people think it took much more time and effort than it actually did. The taste is great and very rich. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was very tasty and easy to prepare. But I found, it was just to rich to finish one slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was a yummy pie. It wasn't the best I have tasted, but for the small amount of effort that went into it and great taste, I give it 4 stars. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was really good... and looked awesome too! I liked this, and my boyfriend liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simsbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
All I can say is that my family LOVED this recipe. My aunt must of said INCREDIBLE 10 times! I am now required to bring this to all family dinners. The only thing I did is cut back on the cream cheese a little and put crumbled reeses cups on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I would call this "double layer chocolate peanut butter mousse pie." It was very good, and rich. I'd make it again if my husband asks, but I'd like to experiment with other recipes to find more of a balance; the peanut butter overwhelmed the chocolate and I was looking for something creamy rather than mousse-like. But don't get me wrong, it's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER8470

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I made this pie for a dinner party and it was a huge hit. I will definetely make this pie again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

RITZ Humble Pie with Peanut Butter Mousse

See how to make the famous peanut butter pie created by Serendipity 3.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

No-Bake Peanut Butter Pie

This pie is rich and creamy, and so easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States