Double Dare Peaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
i used seeded jalapenos and this was actually good. for the love of god don't give it to kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I expected more heat, the ice cream really reduced the burn factor. I would use a third habanero next time. My peaches were so juicy I had to adjust the cooking technique. After the peaches were cooked I pulled then out with a slotted spoon. I then continued to cook the syrup until it thickened. This topping would also be very good on a cream cheese stuffed French toast. I would keep the peppers at 2 if it is not being used with ice cream. Thanks Dave for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Please make this with habanero peppers and not jalapenos. Jalapenos do not have that sneak up power that the recipe talks about. They are just dare peaches not double dare without the habaneros. Amazing recipe! The only tweak I would do next time would be to keep the peaches and ice cream separate on the plate so the ice cream doesn't melt and mix with the peaches. It dulls down the kick. Also, if serving for a big party, don't tell them that it is spicy and just watch. Priceless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These are incredible! They taste EXACTLY as described. Sweet peaches followed by the heat...ice cream required! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Virginia, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
such a great idea! this had my entire family going wild -- even those with the most sensitive stomachs. the flavors compliment each other so perfectly that not one overwhelms another. i would have to agree with pianobarry and say to serve the ice cream seperately, otherwise it quickly melts and takes the heat (both kinds) down a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
WOOOOHOO! I suspected this might be too hot for many of the people I was serving it for, but it really wasn't. Besides the ice cream that helps cool it off, the heat is just a little end note and doesn't overwhelm the peaches. I recommend making sure you don't dice the peppers too small. Maybe just chop them in quarters. The butter gets a little frothy and it can be hard to find the peppers to take them out. You wouldn't want someone to come across one on accident! YIKES! Everyone loved it. GREAT unique recipe. I'll definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This is a fabulous recipe. Truly a unique taste experience. I have fixed it twice for company and everyone loved it, commenting that they'd never tasted anything quite like it. I use habaneros from my garden to make this and it has just the right amount of heat. Habaneros have a wonderful, almost fruity (and yes, HOT!) quality and I think by substituting other types of peppers you would lose some of the sophistication of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was delicious. I was too scared to even look at the habaneros in the store, so I used jalapenos. Someone had just given me a bunch of nectarines so I used those instead of peaches. I couldn't find a health bar or anything like that in the store, so I topped this with a little granola and some of the sauted jalapeno, diced up. A little heat, quite tasty. I'll make this again and maybe I'll get brave next time and swap out part of the jalapeno for some habanero.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! You can make this as spicy or mild as you like. We love spicy so I used fresh peppers from my garden and some ground red pepper and fresh Palisade Peaches from the farmers market. Thank you SO much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Pretty good, would make again but would include the seeds or add more peppers cuz it wasn't very hot even by itself (and with the ice cream it was even milder). I liked the fact that the peaches stayed relatively crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta Salad with Peaches and Basil

An Atlanta-inspired pasta salad with grilled peaches and fresh basil.

How to Make BBQ Peaches

See how to make peaches grilled on the ’que.

Balsamic-Glazed Peaches for Roasted Pork

Peaches caramelized with butter and balsamic vinegar are perfect with pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States