Double-Crust Potato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Delicious! I only had a single pie crust the first time, so I topped with Cheddar cheese the last 10 minutes of baking. I also added a tablespoon of flour to the broth to thicken it rather than draining. The second time I made this I didn't have a pie crust at all, so I put the mixture in a casserole dish and topped with cheddar cheese, real bacon bits and crumbled crackers coated in melted butter. YUM! Thanks for inspiring these fabulous dinner ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forked River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Growing up in Bucks Co. Pa. this was a weekly meal when we had cool weather. My Mother would save the broth from the potatoes to be poured over our bowl full of pie at the table. For those that didn't care for the broth, there was warm buttered milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROOFREDHEAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was a fantastic dinner made according to recipe with a thin layer of cheddar cheese underneath the top crust. Great for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Excellent recipe. I did modify it a little for my own tastes. I decided to add broccoli and a cheese layering between the potato layers. Finally I added a layer of cheese on top instead of the pie crust. It was wonderful! The cheese I used was the Mexican combo and added the right amount of flavors to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Euphrosyn7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I added 3 tbsps of sour cream when I had no butter. Made salty water for broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
good simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Enjoyed this very much. We also added some peppered chichen breast and mixed veggies and turned it into a potatoe pot-pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made this recipe, mostly because I had all the ingredients on hand. However, I did alter it a bit. I used only one pie crust (Pepperidge Farm) for the bottom crust. I cut the potatoes by 1/3, and used Yukon Gold. I also baked some chicken beforehand, with a little bit of garlic salt, and shredded to add to the pie. Instead of topping with a second pie shell, I covered the top with some slices of CheddarJack Cheese that I had. It turned this side dish into a main dish, then served with Caesar Salad and it was a whole meal! Very easy, and yummy. The whole family enjoyed it, and I will definitely make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use up some potatoes and a bit of leftover chicken and decided to give this one a try. It looked good on paper and it tastes good in my mouth! I did have to modify as I only had one pie crust, so I threw some shredded cheese on top and as I mentioned I put some leftover chicken in with the potato filling. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States