Double Crust Bean Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is a great recipe, I loved it, my husband loved it, and I will definitely be making it again. The only changes I made on this recipe were I just dumped all the bean mixture in and topped it with cheese (though that was largely because I didn't read the instructions very thoroughly lol)and I didn't put a crust on the top, just left the cheese naked up there. That cut my cooking time down to about 35-40 minutes instead of a full hour. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This is a very good idea. I have never thought of bean pie. This turned out very good. Next time I will definitely make this pie with corn. I realized it can be good without cheese too, especially you need the top cheese layer. Thanks for the recipe, it makes an interesting meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cheffster
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I had such a hankerin' for black beans and this really hit the spot. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was even better than we expected! I added a layer of tortilla chips with the cheese in the middle and on top. I used three cans of beans, a can of corn and no pie crust. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was just ok for us. It was super easy to do and throw together but it tasted the same as a mexican casserole without the tortillas. I increased the beans (used pinto) to two cans and was glad I did, or it would have been a flimsy filling. Increased the cheese to two cups and salsa to one cup. Still came out pretty dry. Swapped the green peppers for corn and added diced green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
made it with crescent roll dough came out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Easy and very delicious! I did add corn and instead of cayenne pepper, I added tabasco. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
WOW!!! We loved this! I only rate recipes that I have tried according to the original and I was very pleased with this one. It had really great taste and even my 2-year old loved it. It was also very filling. We didn't eat more than 1 and 1/2 slices each. The only thing I can say that I would like to fix is that there is definitely room for more filling since I used a big pie dish. Next time I will try a few other suggestions from other reviewers for additional ingredients. Right off the bat I was thinking of just adding a second can of beans or some re-fried beans. Thanks Sal for a wonderful recipe - this one's a keeper! We are hoping to be missionaries to Haiti and I'm sure I can tailor this recipe with ingredients from there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This was pretty good! The only change I made was to use 1 tsp of homemade taco seasoning in place of the chili powder and cayenne b/c i used the last of my chili powder to make the taco seasoning. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
A fun and delicious way to use beans. I used a bag of all ready cut up frozen peppers and onions to make it easier. I also made my own pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States