Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe, but if you make it, be sure after you add the eggs, to bring it back up to a boil, and once it is boiling, let it bubble for a full minute or even maybe two minutes. There is an enzyme in eggs that needs to be killed by the heat. The enzyme liquefies protein coagulation, so if you do not kill it with the boiling, your pudding will liquefy after it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This recipe is very similar to my great grandmothers, but not as labor intensive. Delicious!!!! I am so happy to have found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
As another reviewer said, this makes stunning pudding. But its not a pie filling. I was going to ignore the slightly loose texture, but even my fiance (who loves the taste of the pie filling) commented on it being just a bit to loose. I love love love the taste of the filling (I know some have mentioned it being to sweet, but I didn't find that to be the case, personal preference for sure)so I wont be changing anything to do with flavor. I will try adding a bit more cornstarch to see if that fixes the firmness issue and will report back if it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Decent at best. My wife didn't like the texture and I thought something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jose_17
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I'm 17 yrs old thought i'd try my luck in pastry and this is a great receipe the chocolate isn't so overpowering it's just right although some tips to have smooth chocolate would be when adding sugar, cornstarch, and salt I personally sae it bettet to add milk first to help desolve the other ingredients since when sugar melt it tends to caramelize and if using cold milk it will harden and cause little chunks of sugar and cornstarch anyways loving the pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this exactly as written. It was OK, WAAYY too sweet and rich for me and as it turned out wouldn't be suitable for serving company as it really didn't set up firm and the pieces don't come out nice. Think I'd have to modify if I made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This would have been a good pudding or parfait recipe but not for a pie. I made it exactly as the recipe called for and it tasted wonderful but even after letting it set and refrigerating it, it wouldn't cut like a pie should and basically melted. I am glad I didn't take this to my in-laws for the holidays. Like I said good pudding but not for pie! Me & my husband ate it with spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Made it last minute in a hurry for a family dinner & everyone loved it! The recipe is enough to fill up two pie shells or we save the extras and eat them like pudding. I didn't realize it needed to chill so long so I threw it in the freezer while we ate dinner and it was perfectly chilled by dessert time. You can taste the cornstarch a little which is my only complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was great pie, but it was too rich for me and the fam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We have made these pies for the last 2 Christmas Seasons and we love them. I follow the recipe using GOOD chocolate and it works perfectly every time. The only thing I do differently is divide the filling into 2 different pies and top one with whipped cream and one with meringue. The chocolate is so rich and creamy that the thinner layer is just perfect! We will be making these every Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA
Living In: Piedmont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States