Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I will use this recipe in place of my old standby, which is a blue-ribbon winner. I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfectly. We'll see how the county fair judges like it this year. Please note: one reviewer suggested to add 3 times more chocolate, add more cornstarch, and use whites instead of yolks. If you want a disaster on your hands, go ahead and take that advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This pie came out great - It was wonderfully chocolaty! I made it for my husbands B-day and he loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect as is and I even live in high altitude. I didn't have any problems with it setting or anything else. The step where you mix the egg yolks separately in a bow is necessary so that the eggs don't cook when you add them to the hot chocolate mixture, if they cook as you add them then you will have lumps of egg yolks in your filling. Having them in a bowl and adding some of the chocolate mixture to them slowly takes the temp down a bit so this doesn’t happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
For those of you who have a gritty result, I'd say it's not the kind of milk you're using (I used whole) but perhaps you're not dissolving the sugar/milk mixture long enough, or melting the chocolate thoroughly. I whisked this recipe basically constantly and it came out with a lovely texture. It tastes like homemade chocolate pudding. Very good and pretty simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Good flavor, but not suited for pie because it's a bit loose. Backed off the sugar and did 1 1/8 cup, plenty sweet as it is with the choco. chips. Everything else followed exactly --and nope, the Saran Wrap doesn't stick, cool, huh? Pie set for 24 hours in the fridge, but still came out loose (we even used whole milk). Consistency of thick pudding -- excellent tasting pudding, mind you, but not quite thick enough to truly be a great cream pie. We'd cut a slice, put it on a plate, and it'd would blob into a gooey puddle that looked like pudding as soon as your fork hit it. Big no no for a pie. I may try this again and add a little more corn starch to see if that firms things up. I'm not a fan of pudding pies - pudding is good, just not in a pie shell. If you dig instant pudding pies, are content with that sort of gooey consistency and are looking to get a bit fancier than ripping open a box and dumping some milk in, you may really dig this recipe. If you're not a pudding pie type, this probably won't be for you. If you're just looking for a great, rich pudding, this is a great recipe, sans the pie shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
This chocolate pie is evil on a plate, it is sooooooo sooooooo yummy. My husband made Christmas eve and had extra pudding in a bowl saved for mwa and I put whipped cream on and yes it is sinful. It would even be GREAT served in fancy glasses w/ whipped cream if you don't have pie shell, I can't decide how I liked it better. Don't change this recipe, why mess with perfection. For pie give plenty of time to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
o.k. so this pie turned out super awesome! It totally wasn't THAT hard, and so worth it even if it was! It was so rich and chocolaty compared to the pudding versions. At the last minute before serving, I smothered the top with fresh whipping cream, then I garnished it with chocolate curls that I made with a vegetable peeler. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is a great base recipe, but it needs a couple changes in order to make it perfect. First of all, DO NOT use chocolate chips. Chocolate chips contain ingredients that can cause items to be soft-set. Instead, I substituted 6 oz. semi sweet chocolate and then the 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate already called for in the recipe. I suggest using whole milk simply because it will yield the best results, but I'm sure you could sub. lower fat milk and it turn out just fine. I also used a chocolate graham cracker crust instead of the normal pie crust. Once your milk/chocolate mixture gets warm, temper it into your eggs. This essentially means to whisk constantly to ensure the eggs don't curdle. Add that mixture back to the pot, and whisk constantly until it boils. You want it to boil for a good minute and make sure you whisk during that minute. Pour into a pie shell, cover with plastic wrap and chill. For those who complained about it being lumpy, it could be you didn't temper the eggs correctly and you're tasting pieces of egg. If it's grainy, you likely didn't cook it long enough and you're still tasting the cornstarch. I'm sure using a store-brand chocolate chip can also yield lumpy results because they just don't melt the way toll house does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARZ7369

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This must be a DEEP DISH pie shell...or use 2 regular pie shells. I poured the excess filling into dessert cups, and used Meringue II from this site to top the pie. ONE cup of sugar was perfect, and made the perfect chocolatey richness. 5 stars if the sugar were reduced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
The chocolate is so rich it will make your teeth ache! I used 2% milk but next time I make this I'm going to use either whole milk or maybe half and half as the pie wasn't creamy enough for me. I would certainly be pleased to offer this to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
This is a WONDERFUL recipe! Very chocolatey & delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was the only pie that was completely devoured. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States