Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I loved it with a homemade graham cracker crust! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
The pie is rich and chocolaty, but I think it is too much so. Some people liked it, but I just felt it was too overwhelming chocolate. To say the least I was disappointed, it was supposed to be a special pie for my dad. I would have given it fewer stars, but felt this was more a personal dislike not the recipes fault. Thank goodness the coconut cream recipe I got from allrecipes was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I made this pie for my birthday this week. I love chocolate any way, so this pie hit the spot! After being chilled throughly, it cut perfectly. It looked like the pie in the picture. I topped it with canned whipped cream. I may try adding meringue next time. It does have a ton of sugar and I will only make it for special occasions, but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hebbronville, Texas, USA
Living In: Freer, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as written and this was delicious. Hint: when baking the pie crust, I lined it with aluminum foil, them filled it with coins from my change jar. I don't have pastry weights, but those also work. It cooked the crust perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly as written and my family did not like it. The taste is sweet... too sweet. The texture, was like pudding. It wasn't quite as runny as one of the other reviewers said, but it had a difficult time keeping it's shape when sliced and the remaining pie, after a while, wanted to fill the space. Won't be making this one again... still on my search for the ultimate chocolate cream pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
WOW this was absolutely amazing. I followed the filling instructions to the letter and it came out brilliantly. I used the Tiramisu Cheesecake crust from this site and it went brilliantly. I had some crust left over so I mixed it with some coconut essence, grated coconut, some sweetened cocoa powder and some cinammon and sprinkled it on top of the set pie. It was heaven. One thing I noticed was that the pie's flavour was a lot cooler- sort of less intense - after it was chilled overnight. However my family loved it either way. The consistency was perfect. If anyone's didn't set I would say they didn't cook it for enough, or didnt follow the instructions properly. Don't skip the egg step! Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Thank You So Much! My mother passed away over twenty years ago and never taught me how she made her wonderful chocolate pie. I have been missing it and looking for a similar recipe for a long time. This is the closest yet. She used the egg whites to make a meringue, (just like the ones on a lemon meringue pie) and the golden peaks of meringue takes the recipe from 'super yummy' to 'out of this world yummy' for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I loved this recipe!!! it came out great and was a very quick and easy recipe! The only thing i did different was i changed the 3 cups of milk to 1 1/2 cups D or Whole milk and 1 cup Heavy whipping cream. It was so rich and definately favored by my family and coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
My mother's long lost recipe!!! My mother always made the best chocolate pies for the holidays. She passed away 14 years ago, and I have been searching high and low for something that would come even close. When I ate the first bite of this...I almost wept. It's my mother's pie. I can't believe it. I am so thankful to Corwynn Darkholme for posting this recipe. I am thankful to all those that tried it before me, and rated it the way they did. I was careful to use the name brands that my mother always used in her kitchen....and this Christmas we will be sharing her pies again with the whole family. By the way, my mother got her recipe from my great grandmother....so it's truly a bitter sweet sense memory treat! If you love chocolate...DO NOT PASS THIS ONE UP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wise, Virginia, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
If you like chocolate, you owe it to yourself to try this recipe! I have made it twice and received rave reviews both times. The first time, I used a traditional homemade crust. For this years' Thanksgiving, I had my stepdaughter pick up a crust, expecting a graham cracker one, and she came home with a chocolate one. Either way, this is one delicious dessert. Easy, quick, chocolate and delicious. What more could you want?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States