Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Mathijs
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
A delicious chocolate pie. The filling tastes like pudding, but with a stronger cacao flavor than the average supermarket kind. I used 500 ml of whipped cream to cover the entire pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Delicious! I make chocolate pies for my youngest son (18) regularly and this is my new recipe. Made a graham cracker crust for the pie (recipe from this site). I used 60% chocolate chips. The pie was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I used Ghiradelli Double Chocolate instead of the chocolate chips! Very Good pie. My husbands favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
great recipe - I did substitute semisweet baking chocolate for chips & melted all chocolate in microwave before adding to warm, not hot liquid. also used waxed paper on top instead of plastic wrap & it worked great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I read alot of the reviews prior to making this pie and I have to say, I had no problems whatsoever. I followed the recipe to a T minus one small fact: some people mentioned the pie was very sweet so I cut the sugar to 1 cup. The pie set up perfectly and was not runny at all. Made sure to cook it till it was thick before removing from heat. I used a graham crust and topped with homemade whipped cream. It was really delicious. Probably would have been just fine with the additional sugar. First chocolate cream pie I ever made and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This pie was not good. It was far too sweet and not rich in the way I prefer. I am not sure how else to describe it except to say that the two pies I made for Christmas were an unfortunate end to an otherwise delicious dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Perfect. I doubled the recipe so I could add mint chips to one for the kids. I used semi-sweet squares instead of chips. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I absolutely LOVE this pie, and my family requests it for every gathering. I use a homemade shortbread cookie crust, and it's simply delicious. I also use 3/4 cup of milk chocolate and 2 ounces of dark chocolate, since my family prefers milk to dark. This pie is PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADAMS4314
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delish!!! I used a ginger-snap crust to give it a more festive feel and it turned out fabulous! Creamy and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States