Double Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
It was way too loose and the only way I could get it to become a little more stiff was to freeze it. The taste was super awesome. Just couldn't keep it to hold. I read all the other reviews and followed the recipe exactly again and see what happens. If anyone has any advice, PLEASE post it. I'm really confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graysin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I used 1 1/4 cup sugar and did not add any of the chocolate until finished the cooking part. Just stir in after taking off heat. Also used 2 tsp vanilla and added 1 T of butter with the chocolate and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I don't usually rate recipes before I've had the final product BUT... This pie is WONDERFUL!! Chocolate pies are a thing of my childhood. My grandmother always used Royal brand chocolate pudding to make her pies but I only make scratch. It's sooo hard to find a recipe that's made from scratch that's chocolaty and it's even harder to watch and stir it JUST right to not get lumps. Between the different method of this pie resulting in a SMOOTH filling and the double chocolate, it's PERFECT!! It's very rich so I small tiny pieces of heaven in our future. I always put my chocolate pies in Graham Cracker crust. Thank you, Corwynn for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe, but if you make it, be sure after you add the eggs, to bring it back up to a boil, and once it is boiling, let it bubble for a full minute or even maybe two minutes. There is an enzyme in eggs that needs to be killed by the heat. The enzyme liquefies protein coagulation, so if you do not kill it with the boiling, your pudding will liquefy after it thickens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Bancroft Ziegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This recipe is very similar to my great grandmothers, but not as labor intensive. Delicious!!!! I am so happy to have found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
As another reviewer said, this makes stunning pudding. But its not a pie filling. I was going to ignore the slightly loose texture, but even my fiance (who loves the taste of the pie filling) commented on it being just a bit to loose. I love love love the taste of the filling (I know some have mentioned it being to sweet, but I didn't find that to be the case, personal preference for sure)so I wont be changing anything to do with flavor. I will try adding a bit more cornstarch to see if that fixes the firmness issue and will report back if it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Decent at best. My wife didn't like the texture and I thought something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jose_17
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I'm 17 yrs old thought i'd try my luck in pastry and this is a great receipe the chocolate isn't so overpowering it's just right although some tips to have smooth chocolate would be when adding sugar, cornstarch, and salt I personally sae it bettet to add milk first to help desolve the other ingredients since when sugar melt it tends to caramelize and if using cold milk it will harden and cause little chunks of sugar and cornstarch anyways loving the pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I made this exactly as written. It was OK, WAAYY too sweet and rich for me and as it turned out wouldn't be suitable for serving company as it really didn't set up firm and the pieces don't come out nice. Think I'd have to modify if I made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrill Pecere

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This would have been a good pudding or parfait recipe but not for a pie. I made it exactly as the recipe called for and it tasted wonderful but even after letting it set and refrigerating it, it wouldn't cut like a pie should and basically melted. I am glad I didn't take this to my in-laws for the holidays. Like I said good pudding but not for pie! Me & my husband ate it with spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States