Double Chocolate Mocha Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DEBBIEDH
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
"Excellent" is all I can say about this dessert. I read some reviews and took what I thought would work best with this dessert. I used 5 Skorr bars. I used the fat free white chocolate instant pudding but used 2% milk in making the pudding. Use the amount of milk that the box suggests. I also used 3 boxes of the pudding - 2 with the coffee ingredient and 1 without, which I used as the middle filling. (If you can find my picutre I submitted with my trifle bowl you can see how nice it turned out. I made the whipping cream and used a layer on the top. Adding the extra pkg of pudding layer and a top layer of whipping cream you do not have to double the recipe. Also I drizzled Hersheys Syrup over each brownie layer (3 layers). So the layers went like this: Bottom layer -thin layer of whipping cream, brownie layer, syrup, toffe pieces, white chocolate coffee pudding/whipping cream mixture, brownie layer, syrup, toffee pieces, white chocolate pudding/cream mixture (remember no coffee in this batch), brownie layer, syrup, toffee pieces, coffee pudding mixture, a nice layer of whipping cream, last Skorr bar pieces and syrup drizzled over the top. It is beautiful to look at too. Delicious and thanks for offering the recipe of this scrumptuous treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBIEDH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
After all the rave reviews for this recipe I just made it. Having company tomorrow and they like sweet, creamy desserts. Is there a mistake in the amount of milk? 1-3/4 c. of milk to 2 boxes of pudding is not nearly enough. Even had trouble putting it together it is so thick. Very, very diappointed but am sure it is because of a mistake in the recipe. Has anyone else had this problem. I will serve it anyway, but have to add some sort of topping or chocolate sauce. Sorry for the negative comments. I am certainly not a novice cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Absolutely amazing! I did everything but assemble it the night before our party and it was so quick to put together the day of! I made a couple of changes by substituting a devil's food cake mix for brownies, and after the cake cooled, I lightly damped it with some Kalua. The rest was done according to the recipe and it was delicious! The recipe doesn't make enough whip topping, but next time I'll just double the pudding cool whip mixture. Great recipe. Definitely give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This was fantastic...Not bad for a last minute kind of thing...As suggested by others, I used cheesecake flavored pudding...Instead of Coffee (we don't drink it) I used Khalua...Very rich dessert!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASHERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Added 1 cup of Kahlua after cake was cooled. Let it soak up overnight in the fridge. Followed the recipe exactly from there. Got rave reviews from people at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I've made this for a few years now, and ALWAYS receive requests for the recipe. One friend demands it every year for holiday parties. So good--I do add a little more coffee flavor to make it extra mocha flavored. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
Each time I make this it's a big hit. I often hear a lot of moaning while one eats the this dessert. Often described as better than....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
When my teenage neighbor boy took a bite he said, "This is the best thing I have ever had in my mouth." I love how fancy it looks and how very easy it is too make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This trifle is delicious and beautiful. A very dramatic showpiece that is SO easy to make. Whenever you show up with this people ooooh and ahhhh. It is very rich so a little goes a long way. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Super easy and absolutely delicious!! My sister is a novice cook/baker (only in the past month has she become interested) so she's been making dinner once a week with my guidance. She gave this a try and it came out amazing! We used gluten free devil's food cake instead of brownies and I'm so glad we did. I feel like the brownies would have been too heavy. Frozen whipped topping contains gluten so instead of coolwhip we made some whipped cream with a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a dash of sugar instead. Definitely do not skimp on the chopped toffee candy. I think next time we make this (which we definitely will be) we might add a layer of the chopped candy in the middle of the trifle for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States