Double Chocolate Mocha Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Super easy and absolutely delicious!! My sister is a novice cook/baker (only in the past month has she become interested) so she's been making dinner once a week with my guidance. She gave this a try and it came out amazing! We used gluten free devil's food cake instead of brownies and I'm so glad we did. I feel like the brownies would have been too heavy. Frozen whipped topping contains gluten so instead of coolwhip we made some whipped cream with a teaspoon of vanilla extract and a dash of sugar instead. Definitely do not skimp on the chopped toffee candy. I think next time we make this (which we definitely will be) we might add a layer of the chopped candy in the middle of the trifle for some extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Everyone like this! I followed the directions on the pudding for how much milk to add ( the pie recipe) I could not find white chocolate pudding so I just used chocolate, not as pretty of a presentation, but it worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culinarychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This tasted like what you would expect from a recipe where every ingredient was a processed food. I am in no way a food snob, but even I thought this could be better. The Cool-Whip in particular gave the pudding layer a greasy texture. At the very least, substitute real whipped cream. The pudding was thick and stiff rather than thick and creamy. It was edible, extremely rich, and the kids loved it, but it was nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I made this for neighbors on my block for New Years. I bought plastic 12 oz. glasses. They were $10 for a set of 14. I used clear ones to see the trifle, but with a New Years theme. I made the dark chocolate brownies per the box. I used three boxes of regular chocolate pudding and three cups of 2% milk. One cup of milk per one box of pudding made it more like mousse than pudding and I prefer it that way. I used a 12 ounce bag of miniture Heath Bars, which was just enough and cost half the price of the single bars. I chopped them up using a Pampered Chef's hand-held chopper. I eliminated the coffee all together because the regular chocolate pudding had plenty of flavor. I used three 8 oz cool whip containers. And I bought one small can of raspberry pie filling. Then I made individual trifles in the holiday glasses. The first layer was brownie, then a layer of pudding, then the raspberry pie filling, then the cool whip (I prefer it as its own layer) and last the Heath Bars. I repeated the layers one more time. Then I placed Saran Wrap over each glass, and using colored cellaphane wrapping, I wrapped each glass like you would a wine bottle and tied a ribbon around the top, and stuck a mini holiday gift card with their name on each glass (In other words, stating hands off to the kids). I knocked on each neighbors door, wished them Happy New Year, and handed them the deserts, adding it had to be refrigerated. It was such a big hit and everyone wanted the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Elegant, easy, and one of the best desserts we ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Amazing! I'm making it for the third time right now. The first time I didn't end up with a lot of the pudding filling, so I am doubling it now. Very nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good recipe, but not exceptional. It was well-received at a pot luck. I substituted 1/4 c. Kahlua for the instant coffee and added caramel ice cream topping between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great recipe, but I wish I'd read everybody's reviews a little more thoroughly before making it. You definitely need to at least double the pudding mixture, it's not nearly enough. I ended up having to run back out to the store in the middle of assembly and they ended up being out of the pudding flavor I used originally and I had to switch to vanilla. That being said, if you adjust your pudding amount, you'll be very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
So easy to follow and such a wonderful dessert!!! I have made this several times now and even doubled on this recipe......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
A big hit at a birthday dinner-even put candles on it! Hopefully dropped a few calories & fat with fat-free milk & low fat whipped topping. Added a ring of whipped cream & raspberries to the top just before serving. Everyone wanted leftovers since it makes so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States