Double Chocolate Mocha Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This dessert is a huge hit every time I make it!!! Rarely do I ever have any left over... most often there isn't enough to go around. And it's easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe is DELICIOUS and so easy to prepare. I served this trifle for dessert to 10 people and only had a few mouthfuls of it left. It got rave reviews. I will definitely make it again and again. I do agree with some others that maybe a little bit more pudding could have been used and more of the candy for crunch. Still, this did not affect the outcome at all. I was not able to find white chocolate pudding at my grocery store so I substituted vanilla pudding and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was great! I was looking for something to make for a girls night dessert, and this was perfect. Instead of layering it in a big glass bowl, I made individual servings in martini glasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
After reading the reviews, I decided to add an extra box of pudding. I used the original amount of Cool Whip, just added extra milk. I also used a bit more coffee, some dark chocolate chips, and brushed the brownies with a couple of shots of Kahlua after they were done baking. I made this slightly less naughty by baking my boxed mocha brownies with egg sub and applesauce, used sugar free pudding, fat free Cool Whip, and skim milk. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
The result was very tasty! I give this only four stars because I felt the directions needed modification. I followed many of the other reviewers suggestions (such as adding more pudding, more coffee, and more whipped topping) which helped fill my trifle bowl to the top. Many reviewers suggested using more milk to avoid having stiff/thick pudding(they said to follow the pie filling directions on the pudding box) and I did this but actually thought the pudding was not thick enough...my layers didn't quite set and pudding leaked into the other layers. I'm all about a nice presentation so I would have preferred the thick pudding. But that's just my opinion. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Generally a good recipe but like others said I would most definitely triple the coffee amount and the pudding amount. I used 3 boxes of pudding and still felt it wasn't enough. I also brewed about 2 cups of very strong coffee and added it into the pudding. I had to use more milk to get the mixture to the correct texture. Like any recipe you might have to make a few tweaks here and there. It is very yummy though and we are big coffee people so of course I made it with extra coffee. I also used some chocolate and caramel syrup drizzled over the brownies. I think you can really do this in any order that you prefer and still couldn't mess up this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I made a variation of this recipe and included some changes that other reviewers made. That said, it really isn't the same recipe, but trifle nonetheless. I didn't have time to make brownies or cake, so I bought chocolate and marble loaf cake, which is moist and cubes beautifully. Instead of pudding with the whipped cream (I used 2 cups real whipping cream), I folded in cream cheese (8 oz), 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 cup sugar, along with 2 cups mini marshmallows. My layers were: loaf cake squares, caramel sauce, crushed Heath Bars, whipped cream/cream cheese mixture, raspberry pie filling with some fresh raspberries thrown in to add some tartness to all that sugar! I brought it to a potluck and it was gone before my husband could taste it! My daughter and her friends said it was awesome. I think this is one recipe where you can get creative and still have it come out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is sooo wonderful! Make sure you make pudding with directions on box (using slightly less milk than called for because of added the coffee). I had one bag (8oz) of Heath bits and it got a little lost so dont be afraid to add more, or maybe just bigger chunks wouldnt have gotten so lost in all that pudding. I had some caramel topping in the fridge so I added a couple squeezes of that! We ate it after only being in the fridge for three hours, it was great, but even better the next day! The brownies got chewier! Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahBeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Served at Christmas 2011 - Awesome! Very Rich however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this for Christmas and my entire family LOVED it! I used previous comments and added Kaluha to the brownies and extra coffee to the pudding mix. So delicious, will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States