Double Chocolate Mocha Trifle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I tasted this somewhere else and had to find it on allrecipes. This recipe is delicious! I modified 2 things: I followed the recipe on the box for the pudding which worked out well (because this recipe I think calls for too little milk). And we don't drink instant coffee, so I made a tiny bit of really strong coffee with our french press and mixed that in with the pudding. The coffee after taste is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
To DIE for! I've been making it for years. Loved by all, even non-coffee lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
The family loved it! I added coffee liqueur along with some perked strong coffee to the pudding - I just kept tasting till it suited my taste [3 boxes of pudding with 3+ cups milk]. I also added bittersweet chocolate chips to the brownies. I did what some others did and drizzled caramel sauce over the brownies but I couldn't really taste it - I would say that it just added calories but this recipe is "loaded" with calories (that's why it's so good)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
GREAT trifle recipe! I used Ghirardelli double chocolate brownies. Put a shot of Starbucks coffee liqueur in w/ the cheesecake pudding mix (before folding in the Cool Whip) and then shaved Ghirardelli dark chocolate bar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Delicious ! Not sure that I am that crazy about the mocha flavor. Only thing I changed was that I used a homemade brownie recipe and used toffee bits and drizzled caramel topping on each brownie layer as well. Definitely not enough pudding mix; will double the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was definitely tasty (with this list of ingredients, it would be hard to go wrong) but I honestly didn't see the spectacular-ness about it. It was well recieved at a football party so that was what counted in the end but it didn't strike me a super-special-stand-above-and-beyond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Personally, I don't care for pudding, so I'm rating this based on everyone else's reactions. They LOVED it. I doubled the ingredients and served it after Christmas dinner. Since I couldn't find a white chocolate (or cheesecake) flavoured pudding, I used 2 boxes of chocolate and 1 box of vanilla (putting the vanilla layer in the middle). I added hazelnut flavoured instant coffee to the chocolate pudding, which gave it a nice flavour. I also used 1 cup of milk per pudding box, as other reviewers recommended. Instead of adding the Score bar pieces to each layer, I offered them on the side in a serving dish so the guests could sprinkle the amount they wanted over their dish. (Okay, okay...I accidentally forgot to add them to the layers as I went, but it all worked out anyway)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This recipe is great! To make it a little bit easier, I just borrowed some of my husband's regular coffee of the day, instead of the instant listed in this recipe. I think next time I make this I will prepare the brownies the night before so there aren't as many steps!!! Thanks for posting this.. it is great and makes a very pretty and tasty dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
My whole family begs me to make this at every function! I take it to work and to my niece's school and they all love it. The only change I made is I use dark chocolate chips instead of chopping up a chocolate bar. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Holy Moly ! served this on a number of occasions and heard nothing but ...mmmm mmmm mmmmm!! Took one reviews advice (DEBBIEDH) and used 3 bxs of pudding also. I used FF milk instead. made 2 w/ coffee - one without. I also drizzled caramel topping over the brownies between each layer, used more whipped cream and used HEATH bars (my fave!) Topped w/ layer of whipped cream and drizzled choc syrup and caramel along w/ chopped candy bars. Not one lick of whipped cream left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Trifle

A chocolate lover’s delight with brownies, chocolate pudding, and whipped cream.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States