Double Chocolate Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I was nervous about the large amount of butter used in this, plus the volume of cookies to make. I almost halved the recipe, but am glad I did not! These are amazing. I used 1 3/4 cup butter, adding 1 cup flaxmeal to replace it. I also subbed 1 1/2 cup brown for the white(only that amount since I ran out). I also added 1 3/4 tsp peppermint. I subbed 1 cup 10 grain flour as well. WOW! I am cooking them for more than listed. Mine are good at about 12 minutes. I have a convection oven and my family likes them crisper. They are STILL cooking now! I have hardly made a dent in the batter. Make sure you have lots of time for baking when making the full recipe. I can see how rolling them in some colored sugar would be great for the holiday presentation. I plan on freezing these to give as gifts for upcoming parties. Will most definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I made 2 batches of these cookies and within 4 hours of baking them, they were gone. GREAT cookies. Very flavorful, I even added in some mini peanut butter chocolate chips to some. they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
these are the most delicious and moist cookies! Mine always come out flat but I can't complain about how they taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I made these last night, and they are the most incredible cookies I have ever had. i am officially bringing these anywhere I go for the rest of my life when I want to bring food as a gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This recipe did not work for me! im not complaining about the taste, because they taste just fine but i could not enven get the cookies off the cookie sheet. The cookie's did not hold their shape and i even halved the recipe and used 1 cup of butter, and still did not work. I used andes mints instead of peppermint extract and it tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Our cookies needed more time to cook, and still weren't quite firm. The flavor was very good. They were popular with our tasters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These are SO YUMMY. After reading reviews, I opted to make only 1/2 the recipe. I used Nucoa margarine and shortening(reduced to 1 cup total) to make it dairy-free, and added a tad of salt to make up for the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I replaced the chocolate chips with mint chocolate chips. They were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
These have an AMAZING texture. I use half the butter. As a variation, I used half the mint extract and used mint chips instead of chocolate (their green color is more festive for Christmastime). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Terrace, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States