Double Chocolate Mint Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
4 out of 5 stars only because of the need to reduce butter. I also switched all white sugar for half white and half brown & then halved the recipe and happily have more than enough cookies! For those of us who like sweet things, but still find many sweet desserts a bit "too much" the addition of the mint balances these out quite nicely. Watch for over-cooking, one batch of mine I inadvertently over-did just a hair and the bitterness of the slight burn on the bottom is underscored by the slight bitterness of the chocolate making it worse, so def. watch these -- they're well worth it when they come out right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dyslexia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
With a few modifications this AMAZING cookie has become "MY" Christmas cookie. I only make 1/2 the recipe at a time so it doesn't overflow my Kitchen Aid. I use butter flavored Crisco instead of butter (don't forget the added water that is necessary - check the box for directions), I double the listed amount of peppermint and also add a cup of Andes Peppermint Chips. These have proven difficult to find in my small-ish town, but fortunately there is the internet! These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Makes a ton of cookies in fact the batch mixture was so large my brand new kitchen aid mixer could hardly handle it i had to take a little of the mix out....however These cookies are delicious just be sure to take them out early enough or they do get crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SicilianKitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I have made these twice, the first time they were AMAZING. As others said I upped the amount of peppermint to a full T. The second time I must not have creamed the butter long enough or something because they fell flat. Not sure what I did but either way, fantastic cookies! My husbands new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etoille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Halved the recipe and ended up making some adjustments! Used half a cup of butter and half a cup of Crisco, added half another egg, an extra 1/4 tsp of mint extract, and this is the important part-- let the dough chill in the fridge for 24 hours! It's not necessary, but it made my next night's cookies beautiful and flat and chewy as opposed to the crunchiness of the first night. Already have requests for this cookie lined up for the next get-together :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
only got a 4 because i have had to alter the recipe to include more flour otherwise the cookies fall flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great recipe. My 14 year old made the cookies and we loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Extremely good cookie! I scaled it down to 24 cookies and added a little more peppermint cause I like a "mintie" cookie. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. They turned out perfect. Exactly what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydro, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Amazing! we have used this recipe many times and it's my favorite cookie, by far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Delicious! The people who had runny batter possibly were using margarine because I did not have that problem at all. Also, my cookies were not flat at all. I followed the recipe exactly scaled down to 24, which is enough for a ton of cookies! This dough freezes great, so I think next time I'll make the whole thing. TIP: If you're looking for the peppermint extract at the store, do not get the mint! It has to say peppermint specifically. I've not made this three times, and I've discovered the secret to keeping them from getting flat is to add about 1 or 2 tablespoons more flour. Keep in mind that I only made 24 cookies, so you made need to add even more flour. The batter will look fairly dry, but does not taste like it when the cookies are baked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States