Double Chocolate Brownie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I tested 4 chocolate cake recipes with similar ingredients at the same time and this cake was one of the better ones. I also recommend the Too Much Chocolate Cake recipe. And the Chocolate Lovers Favorite Cake recipe if you like a hint of almond flavor. I sprinkle my chocolate cakes with powdered sugar after it has cooled, no need for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Very good! I used only 1 cup of chocolate chips and baked for about 55 minutes. The cake was kind of giggly when it was out of the oven but settled and got a bit harder as it cooled. I poured satin glaze (3/4 cup of chocolate chips, 3 tbsp butter, 1 tbsp light corn syrup, optional 1/4 tsb vanilla) over it and served for a party. Big hit and we ate leftovers the next day VERY happily. :) Will make again if I don't feel like making cake from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This cake is awesome! I was ready for it to be dry, but it is moist and oh so flavorful! The first time I made it I didn't have chocolate pudding so I used vanilla and it was still great. I made today with chocolate pudding and waiting for the results when it cools...I frosted with a chocolate glaze. Do not hesitate...its easy and I think the sour cream is what makes this so yummy and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Wow! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very good. I used mint chocolate chips and yogurt instead of sour cream. My only complaint is it expanded enough that it ran out of my pan. I was just a little messy in the oven other than that it tasted really good! This is a very think batter. Don't let it scare you. It is still a fluffy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I was looking for a cake recipe that would go well with ice cream and hot fudge kind of like the hot fudge cake that a local restaurant serves. The brownie in the name got me. I didn't quite want a brownie, but didn't quite want a cake either. This worked out perfectly. I used milk chocolate chip instead of semi sweet because I really don't prefer the bitter taste of semi sweet chocolate. I served this fresh out of the oven and topped it with vanilla ice cream and then finished it off with the Hot Fudge Sauce recipe from this site. I highly recommend both recipes. I hope this helps:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Awesome cake, I followed directions exactly and it came out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This is a delicious cake recipe. The only thing I changed was the yogurt. I did not have plain yogurt on hand, so I used a container of Yoplait Boston Creme Pie flavored yogurt. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Very moist - perfect for my brownie lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States