Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
They tasted soooo good, but I ran into trouble making them. I cut the baking powder in half as suggested. When I put the loaves in the oven, they burned within 10 min. I don't know why :( I quickly flipped the loaves over, and lowered the oven to 350 F, and continued with the rest of 10 min. After I took them out of the oven, I sliced them into half inch slices, and sliced off the burned side. Then baked them right away at 325 for 9 min. No crumbling. So no need to wait. Just need to watch the initial first bake oven temp. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
very good biscotti. once you get past what they look like sitting on the bakeing sheet they bake up great lol. co-workers loved they as did family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was the first time I ever baked biscotti & although it's not perfect, I am pleased enough to try this recipe again. I was trying to make this recipe just a little healthier by changing 1/2 cup of butter to 2 tbsp & adding 1/2 cup of mashed ripe bananas. It gave it a banana-y flavor but I personally liked it. Not bad at all if you're looking for something different than the typical cookie or brownie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I had never made biscotti before, but had read enough to know that I should be very worried about creating a crumbly mess. My worries were for nothing- these turned out perfectly! I did allow them to cool for about 15 minutes before slicing and I used an electric knife to slice- which probably helped with the crumble factor. This recipe is excellent and I will definitely use it again. They're actually better a few days out than they are fresh. Thanks, Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These are delicious! First time I've made biscotti and now that I conquered them, I will definitly make these again and other biscotti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This makes a fantastic chocolate biscotti. It’s not as crunchy as other biscotti but has excellent chocolate flavor. I followed the recipe with the exception of not adding white chocolate morsels but added some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made these a few times and they always turn out perfectly. They taste as good on the fourth day as they did on the first. Usually I add pecans and a tsp of vanilla, and I cut them about 10 minutes after I take them out of the oven. I have never had any problems with crumbling. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is over the top good!!!!! I'm always trying to cut down on the sugar and I was able to use about 1/3 less with good results. I did the whole thing in my kitchenaid mixer without a problem, although the batter is thick. I used parchment paper instead of greasing the pans and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFD1129
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good biscotti recipe. After reading reviews, I did take the temp down to 300 on the second round. I ended up with a crunchy yet semi-soft biscotti that wouldnt break your teeth when biting into :). 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFD1129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shinglehouse, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States