Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I've never made biscotti in my life and shied away from it because I thought it was going to be difficult. I took the bull by the horns and decided to make this for our cookie plate for Christmas dinner. It was SO EASY! It cut like a dream using a serrated bread knife and though crunchy, it's not so crunchy as to crack a tooth like some biscotti I've eaten. Not over sweet, would be wonderful dipped in coffee or hot chocolate. So much for Christmas...I made them two days ago and they're gone. Guess I'm making more. Thanks for an easy and pretty fool-proof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was my first attempt at making Biscotti. I love the recipe and found it easy to make. I also substituted the white chocolate chips. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Love this recipe. I will keep making this over and over. I substituted 1 1/4 cups mini semi-sweet chocolate chips since I do not like white chocolate, and they came out perfect. Just really watch them in the oven in the last few minutes of the second cooking. They go from done to overdone very quickly, especially if your baking sheet isn't really high quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this tonight and was very happy with it. I did struggle with it crumbling a little when I cut it and after I did the 2nd baking on one side, it was even more crumbly, so I didn't flip it. The taste was delicious and I used both white chocolate and semi-sweet, along with some blanched slivered almonds. I'm getting ready to dip it in some decaf...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I am not the biscotti eater in the family, so I can only rate this on how well the recipe went for me as far as preparation, which was very smoothly. Biscotti is a bit time consuming to make with the double baking and slicing, but I wouldn't say it was difficult. This dough came together nicely and baked perfectly. I gave this away in gift baskets and everyone said they enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Everyone loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tapa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great recipe to start with- I added in some nuts and chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
They tasted soooo good, but I ran into trouble making them. I cut the baking powder in half as suggested. When I put the loaves in the oven, they burned within 10 min. I don't know why :( I quickly flipped the loaves over, and lowered the oven to 350 F, and continued with the rest of 10 min. After I took them out of the oven, I sliced them into half inch slices, and sliced off the burned side. Then baked them right away at 325 for 9 min. No crumbling. So no need to wait. Just need to watch the initial first bake oven temp. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
very good biscotti. once you get past what they look like sitting on the bakeing sheet they bake up great lol. co-workers loved they as did family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvu61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was the first time I ever baked biscotti & although it's not perfect, I am pleased enough to try this recipe again. I was trying to make this recipe just a little healthier by changing 1/2 cup of butter to 2 tbsp & adding 1/2 cup of mashed ripe bananas. It gave it a banana-y flavor but I personally liked it. Not bad at all if you're looking for something different than the typical cookie or brownie! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States