Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have been making this recipe for the past 3 or 4 Christmases - family and friend just LOVE them. However, I too have had the problem others describe with crumbly cookies. I've tried all sorts of things to avoid it and nothing has worked... until today. I make several other biscotti recipes and noticed this year that this recipe calls for double the amount of baking powder. So I made my last batch of these cookies with half the baking powder. VOILA!! Perfect cookies!! Give it a try. Great recipe. By the way, I've made this recipe with all sorts of different types of chocolate and nuts - all great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I've always had a love/hate affair with biscotti--most times it's usually been way too dry or hard to really enjoy, but this recipe is REALLY good. I left out the white chocolate pieces, and added premium chocolate chips, which gave the biscotti a deep, sweet chocolate taste. My husband and mother really liked this, and a girlfriend's niece got hold of these, I'm told, and ate nothing else all night long! Next time I make, I'm going to dredge some of the pieces in ganache and see how that works. Thanks a million for this wonderful, good-tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I thought theses were good...but they did taste more like a very hard cookie (as the dough ingredients would suggest) rather than a true biscotti. However my kids really liked these and did not need to dunk them in a hot drink to be able to chew them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
tastes amazing. Isn't rich, so you can eat eat eat this wonderfully tasting biscotti. All of my friends love it and demand it at every get-together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Tasted delicious, but I am too fussy to use them as gifts because they were too crumbly to be pretty. I tried adjusting the times/temps as others have, but it did not help. I ended up with 24 so-so looking cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsfd311

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I was a little nervous making this, but it turned out great! It may seem at first that the biscotti is not hard enough after the final baking, but after letting it cool COMPLETELY, it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This was my first time making Biscotti. I thought it came out great. They tasted like a brownie. I thought they were sweet enough. I recommend letting them cool for the whole hour before you cut them. I did and they didn't crumble at all. I will be making them again soon to give as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy's Kitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
FABULOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was my first time making biscotti--and they turned out great. I did make one mistake--I cooked the loaves on seperate trays, one on the top rack and one on the bottom rack. The loaf on the bottom rack burned a bit on the bottom. I was able to fix it by just scraping the bottom of the loaf with a sharp knife. Lesson learned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
these are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States