Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This worked well and the flavor was very nice. I used slightly less cocoa (personal preference) and omitted the added chocolates, instead adding 1 cup crushed slivered almonds and 1 tsp. almond extract. There is no way I could've gotten 36 biscotti from this recipe, though; I ended up with 14.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
These are great and easy to make! Only change I made was substituting 1 cup of whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
I have made these three times now and they have come out better each time. I made some changes to the recipe, I use 2 heaping tsp of baking power, replace 3/4 of the AP with Whole Wheat Flour, and use 1oz of Andes Mint Chips. I bake them for 25 minutes for the first bake and then allow them to cool for 30 mintues before slicing and then cool for another 30 mintues. On the second bake I baked them for 10 minutes on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I made these biscottis today along with 2 other biscotti recipese (Cinnamon Sugar Biscottis and Brownie Biscottis)& I'm proud to say that in texture & crispiness.....these are true biscottis!!!!! After the first bake they were warm, soft & tasted like brownies! (I wonder if you could just take them out & leave them like that because if so then this would be the best brownie recipe ever along with the Brownie Biscotti recipe because after the first bake they taste the same!) But then after the second bake they got dry & crispy & got a slight bitter chocolate taste which was just fine! The changes that I made were that instead of adding the white chocolate squares & semisweet chocolate chips I added 1/4 of a bar of Lindt's Dark Chocolate & Orange chocolate along with 1/8 of a bar of Lindt's 85% Dark Chocolate that I chopped up into chunks along with 2 tsp. of powdered sugar just so that it wasn't too bitter from all of the dark chocolate. I also added about a tablespoon or 2 of shreaded unsweetened coconut & like 5-8 hazelnuts. The result was a very gourment TRUE BISCOTTI!!!!! (but for flavor I personally prefer the Brownie Biscotti recipe.....they really do taste like brownies! YUM-O!!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I made these for the second time last night and the were not really my cup of tea. I did over cook them as I was watching a movie at the same time but I think I will try something different next time when making an italian dessert. I did break the Biscotti up and mix it in with some vanilla icecream and I thought that made them more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pieceofpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Great recipe~ I added a little vanilla extract for flavor and consistency and these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Only added a pinch of salt and loved them. TO CUT - use a chef's knife and just push down through the slices, don't saw back and forth with a serrated knife. I let them cool 10-15 minutes before cutting, but didn't notice the lower temp for the 2d and 3d baking and ended up with a couple slightly burnt ends, but they were yummy dunked in coffee. I might add vanilla or powdered espresso next time, and maybe nuts and bittersweet chips. I'll definitely keep this recipe - was about to make more today but think I'll wait after just eating 5 with a pot of coffee - buzz buzz buzz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Yummo! This is the first biscotti recipe I have made and I am very pleased with the results. I think this batch tastes better than any I've ever bought. Prior to choosing this particular recipe, I reviewed MANY biscotti recipes online. I made a couple of changes based on other recipes, suggested changes, and high reviews. Instead of allowing the loaves to cool for one hour prior to slicing, I cut them after only 15 min of cooling. Also, I put them back in the oven for 10 minutes on each side instead of 5. I like my biscotti very crispy and these are perfect! They are delicious and I can't wait to share them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkwilbanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great biscotti recipe! I substituted pecans for the white chocolate and they were a huge hit. If you like a traditional flavor these are wonderful. However be sure not to overbake - when your toothpick comes up dirty you may have hit a chocate chip so prick a few more times for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyoumuch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELSY
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Yum...I subbed dark choc for the white and these were chocolatey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States