Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I had never made biscotti before, but had read enough to know that I should be very worried about creating a crumbly mess. My worries were for nothing- these turned out perfectly! I did allow them to cool for about 15 minutes before slicing and I used an electric knife to slice- which probably helped with the crumble factor. This recipe is excellent and I will definitely use it again. They're actually better a few days out than they are fresh. Thanks, Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These are delicious! First time I've made biscotti and now that I conquered them, I will definitly make these again and other biscotti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This makes a fantastic chocolate biscotti. It’s not as crunchy as other biscotti but has excellent chocolate flavor. I followed the recipe with the exception of not adding white chocolate morsels but added some chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made these a few times and they always turn out perfectly. They taste as good on the fourth day as they did on the first. Usually I add pecans and a tsp of vanilla, and I cut them about 10 minutes after I take them out of the oven. I have never had any problems with crumbling. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is over the top good!!!!! I'm always trying to cut down on the sugar and I was able to use about 1/3 less with good results. I did the whole thing in my kitchenaid mixer without a problem, although the batter is thick. I used parchment paper instead of greasing the pans and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFD1129
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very good biscotti recipe. After reading reviews, I did take the temp down to 300 on the second round. I ended up with a crunchy yet semi-soft biscotti that wouldnt break your teeth when biting into :). 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFD1129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shinglehouse, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very unhappy with this recipe. It's not biscotti. It's too soft, way too crumbly. Probably makes a good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was my very first shot at making Biscotti - daughter had to have an authentic Italian food for a project at school. I read all the hints and tips plus I watched a couple Youtube videos showing how to handle the dough, etc. Turned out excellent and had several moms ask for the recipe. My daughters asked me to make it again for the family this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I made these with the suggestion of cutting the baking powder in half and I only cooled them for about 12 minutes after the 1st baking and then cut them into slices. I think cooling them for the hour that the recipe suggested could contribute to the crumbling problem others are having because they are cooling too much and are not as soft when slicing them. I also added a little vanilla to the recipe, and after cooling them after 2nd baking I dipped the bottoms into melted chocolate. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States