Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
i used semi sweet and milk choc chips and did a few easier steps after initial bake...cool only 10 min and use electric knife to slice them. they still crumble a lil but not as bad as the first batch which i did exactly as written. baked 10 min turned and 10 min more. turned out just perfectly crispy and 'biscotti-ie'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAMJJ
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were frustrating, but kinda worth it. I halved the baking powder as others suggested, but they were still a bit of a pain to work with--the dough was much stickier than the other biscotti I made, and they didn't firm up too much after the first baking (the logs were like giant chocolate chip cookies). I had planned on letting them cool for 10 minutes or so before cutting (based on the other recipe I'd made), but they were so soft, I had to wait about 40 and still had some breakage issues. So, I don't know if I'd go through that to make them as biscotti again, though the final product was delicious. However, I might use the recipe (baking only once) to make awesome triple chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very good and easy to make. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Finally I have to give this a review. This is the 4th time I went to this recipe. First time I used dried cherries in the recipe. Today, choc chips AND a second batch with chips & almond slivers. Everything I've done comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is a good Biscotti. I used unsalted butter, omitted the baking powder altogether (you don't want 'fluffy'), used a good quality Dutch processed cocoa and Ghiradrlli white and mini chocolate chips. To compliment the chocolate flavor, I added 2 tablespoons of orange zest. Before baking, I rolled each part in a mixture of granulated sugar and finely ground almonds. Totally excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Everyone loved these - even a non-biscotti person! I make biscotti, and found that the dough wasn't stiff enough so added 1/4 c. more flour. If you oil your work surface and hands nothing will stick. I also have better luck cutting when the logs are still warm - less crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I like the addition of the chocolate morsels! Great texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
So good! Really glad I read the tip about the wax paper. Made shaping and rolling pretty easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Delicious! I didn't have any white chocolate so I left that out and added chopped almonds instead. Loved the combination of the chocolate and almonds. This is definitely the best biscotti recipe I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Seriously delicious! Mine cracked and crumbled when I cut them. No, I didn't let the logs cool for a full hour before cutting...I need someone to give me some tips. Mine might not have turned out very pretty, but they sure taste good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States