Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Disappointing, they crumbled and fell apart. More like a broken sour brownie bite. Not a good idea to add the chocolate chips or white chocolate because it burnt quicker. Should have read the reviews and taken the advise to use only half the amt of baking powder so it wouldn't have tasted so chalky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Great tasting biscotti. I used hazelnuts only because I did not have white chocolate. I also only waited 10 minutes after the first baking to cut them. I thought they might be too cool to cut well after an hour. I have to admit that 2 or 3 crumbled. Other than that they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is a great biscotti. The dough is easy to work with you can change the white chocolate to all dark or vice versa. Or add nuts instead. I did not find it at all soft or crumbly. Bakes up very well. Rather than used greased sheets, I mix and bake it on parchment - easy peasy clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
This was my first time making biscotti and it turned out great! I only added 1 tsp baking powder based on previous reviews. They weren't too hard or too soft. So yummy dipped in coffee or tea! I read online that to ensure they are crispy enough, let them cool overnight in the oven then put them in an airtight container. This is what I did and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RichelleB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe! This was my first go at making biscotti and I found it brilliantly simple and easy to follow and it was absolutely delish! I made a little modification in terms of sweetness - I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar instead of 2/3 cups of white sugar. And followed the advise of another user and reduced the baking powder to 1-1.5 tsp. Thank you for sharing this recipe Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
My husband can't get enough chocolate so these were well received by him. Add a cup of coffee (his other favorite thing) and he was one happy camper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
i used semi sweet and milk choc chips and did a few easier steps after initial bake...cool only 10 min and use electric knife to slice them. they still crumble a lil but not as bad as the first batch which i did exactly as written. baked 10 min turned and 10 min more. turned out just perfectly crispy and 'biscotti-ie'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAMJJ
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
These were frustrating, but kinda worth it. I halved the baking powder as others suggested, but they were still a bit of a pain to work with--the dough was much stickier than the other biscotti I made, and they didn't firm up too much after the first baking (the logs were like giant chocolate chip cookies). I had planned on letting them cool for 10 minutes or so before cutting (based on the other recipe I'd made), but they were so soft, I had to wait about 40 and still had some breakage issues. So, I don't know if I'd go through that to make them as biscotti again, though the final product was delicious. However, I might use the recipe (baking only once) to make awesome triple chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very good and easy to make. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chino Hills, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Finally I have to give this a review. This is the 4th time I went to this recipe. First time I used dried cherries in the recipe. Today, choc chips AND a second batch with chips & almond slivers. Everything I've done comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States