Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I halved the recipe, to try it out. They were gone very fast. It's for chocolate lovers who don't like their cookies too heavy or too sweet. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Toscana, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Loved it!!! I've made one other biscotti recipe before, and this one is by far better. I cut them aftre about 15 minutes of cooling instead of the one hour. I made sure that the consistancy was moist but not sticky. Will make this one again for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I thought this was very good, though I preffered the coconut walnut biscotti better (just preference), but thought this recipe was still worth 5 stars. As for texture, sometimes you need to ignore the recipe and go with what feels right. I had to adjust the flour to get the consistency right. If you've never made biscotti before, to form it into a log it should be firm but not crumbly. Yet, it definietly shouldn't stick to your fingers. I preferred to dip this biscotti in chocolate (did both dark and white) to give it an extra sweetness. Tip: Use a ruler to help shape the biscotti: use the flat side of a normal 12 inch ruler and "scrape" the biscotti into shape on a flat (preferably cold) countertop. This way you can tell just how thick and how flat the biscotti is; if that made any sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuperbre

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deep River, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was an awesome dessert. I made it for my family, and they ate it down so quickly, that I was amazed. I just have to say that if you don't have any chocolate, like me the first time, it tastes fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Very nice biscotti recipe. It wasn't too sweet for my taste and the white chocolate added the perfect hints of extra sweet to this recipe. I used white chocolate chips instead of chocolate chunks. Also it crumbled quite a bit while cutting but I managed to save a a few of them without breaking. The biscotti itself came out really nice, though a few came out brownie textured, which I believe is a fault on my part cause they were cut a bit thicker than other pieces which came out exactly like biscotti is supposed to. I enjoyed it both ways though, thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This turned out more like a crunchy brownie than a biscotti. I could see making them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I have read and re-read at least 30 different biscotti recipes (on more than just allrecipes) and tried others to see why this one was so crumbly. I also tried waiting 30 minutes for one loaf (as 1 reviewer suggested) and only a few minutes for the other log as another reviewer suggested, both times using a very sharp serrated knife. There was no difference, they were both crumbly and I lost around 10-15% of the cookies. It was suggested that perhaps the amount of liquid makes a difference (maybe an extra egg could help?) but nearly all the other biscotti recipes had the same approx. 2 cups flour:2 eggs ratio and not many issues with crumbling. Next time I think I'll try the extra egg. Very good cookie but I'm unsure I could give it as a gift because of appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Wow! These are amazing! I found that using a serated knife to slice the biscotti makes it much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chappaqua, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very good. I saved the semi-sweet chocolate chips, and after the biscotti were done, I melted the chips and spread the melted chocolate over one half of the tops of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States