Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
Only added a pinch of salt and loved them. TO CUT - use a chef's knife and just push down through the slices, don't saw back and forth with a serrated knife. I let them cool 10-15 minutes before cutting, but didn't notice the lower temp for the 2d and 3d baking and ended up with a couple slightly burnt ends, but they were yummy dunked in coffee. I might add vanilla or powdered espresso next time, and maybe nuts and bittersweet chips. I'll definitely keep this recipe - was about to make more today but think I'll wait after just eating 5 with a pot of coffee - buzz buzz buzz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Yummo! This is the first biscotti recipe I have made and I am very pleased with the results. I think this batch tastes better than any I've ever bought. Prior to choosing this particular recipe, I reviewed MANY biscotti recipes online. I made a couple of changes based on other recipes, suggested changes, and high reviews. Instead of allowing the loaves to cool for one hour prior to slicing, I cut them after only 15 min of cooling. Also, I put them back in the oven for 10 minutes on each side instead of 5. I like my biscotti very crispy and these are perfect! They are delicious and I can't wait to share them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkwilbanks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great biscotti recipe! I substituted pecans for the white chocolate and they were a huge hit. If you like a traditional flavor these are wonderful. However be sure not to overbake - when your toothpick comes up dirty you may have hit a chocate chip so prick a few more times for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missyoumuch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MELSY
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Yum...I subbed dark choc for the white and these were chocolatey goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have been making this recipe for the past 3 or 4 Christmases - family and friend just LOVE them. However, I too have had the problem others describe with crumbly cookies. I've tried all sorts of things to avoid it and nothing has worked... until today. I make several other biscotti recipes and noticed this year that this recipe calls for double the amount of baking powder. So I made my last batch of these cookies with half the baking powder. VOILA!! Perfect cookies!! Give it a try. Great recipe. By the way, I've made this recipe with all sorts of different types of chocolate and nuts - all great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I've always had a love/hate affair with biscotti--most times it's usually been way too dry or hard to really enjoy, but this recipe is REALLY good. I left out the white chocolate pieces, and added premium chocolate chips, which gave the biscotti a deep, sweet chocolate taste. My husband and mother really liked this, and a girlfriend's niece got hold of these, I'm told, and ate nothing else all night long! Next time I make, I'm going to dredge some of the pieces in ganache and see how that works. Thanks a million for this wonderful, good-tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I thought theses were good...but they did taste more like a very hard cookie (as the dough ingredients would suggest) rather than a true biscotti. However my kids really liked these and did not need to dunk them in a hot drink to be able to chew them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
tastes amazing. Isn't rich, so you can eat eat eat this wonderfully tasting biscotti. All of my friends love it and demand it at every get-together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Tasted delicious, but I am too fussy to use them as gifts because they were too crumbly to be pretty. I tried adjusting the times/temps as others have, but it did not help. I ended up with 24 so-so looking cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsfd311

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I was a little nervous making this, but it turned out great! It may seem at first that the biscotti is not hard enough after the final baking, but after letting it cool COMPLETELY, it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States