Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Pay close attention to baking times! I let mine go to long and they got crumbly. Not to much of a chocolate flavor, more of a mocha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mattswife1123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is a great recipe for biscotti. My family does not like the anise flavour in traditional biscotti, so this was a big hit. Mine crumbled a bit as well, but just a few pieces. Also - I substituted slivered almonds in place of the walnuts, and I didn't have any instant coffee granules, so those are optional as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diannapop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I love biscotti and this recipe filled my desires of chocolate and biscotti at the same time! Great recipe I added a little more sugar because I have a huge sweet tooth, but you can add or remove sugar as you please. I found that this recipe was devoured in under 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
this got 3 stars as a biscotti, but it could probably get 4.5 as an ice cream topping. the dough was completely dry and half of it shattered when i tried to slice it! i ended up with a dozen biscotti and two cups of crumbs:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These were just ok. They wasn't really anything wrong with them, they just didn't have a great chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Loved these! This was the first time I made biscotti -- it was so easy. I did notice that the dough was quite stiff and dry at the end. I used 1 to 2 ounces of cold coffee instead of the granules. This may have added enough liquid to prevent the crumbling that others mentioned. I also added a few shakes of cayenne to compliment the cinnamon. It was enough to add a tingle of heat without being overt. I would have put in almonds if I had had them, but I found I really liked the walnuts. Will certain make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great biscotti, although I think its more of a Mocha biscotti than a double chocolate. The only negative for me is that the dough is very prone to crumbling. (I am an avid Biscotti baker and this is not something that usually happens for me) the dough itself was really crumbly when it came to making the logs, so I did knead it a little like I would a loaf of bread, which made it a little better. Once the logs came out of the oven and I let cool for 10 minutes I did have a few crumble on me. As always I bake the first time on wax paper. Over all a good biscotti, pity about the crumbling! I will play around a little with this recipe next time, maybe more vanilla will keep it together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Really good. I didn't have walnuts so I substituted pecans, worked out just as well. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Good Chocolate flavor, but crumble. We'll stick with our regular chocolate biscotti recipe that it much better in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great recipe, perfect with coffee! When I add a splash of milk (the original dough recipe is a little dry), I also add a teaspoon of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States