Double Chocolate Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I was expecting something more chocolatey with this name. It was good, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe tastes great, but I had trouble with lots of crumbles and biscotti pieces breaking off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roksaan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This was a great recipe! So easy to make. I too used about an ounce and a half strong coffee instead of instant granules, and it made the dough PERFECT consistency. It was a BIT crumbly at the end, but not too bad at all! Oh, and instead of walnuts, I used dried cranberries which were amazing. I will definitely make this recipe over & over - I already have plans to make a batch as a gift for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I liked this, and thought it very good. I omited the pecans, and forgot to paste on the yolk-water mixture. Not sure if that made a difference or not, but I also didn't have enough regualar cocoa powder, so I put in some dark powder. It was really good that way. I can see how some thought of it tasting more mocha than chocolate, but I saw a hint of that, but mostly chocolate. 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Great recipe, perfect with coffee! When I add a splash of milk (the original dough recipe is a little dry), I also add a teaspoon of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Good Chocolate flavor, but crumble. We'll stick with our regular chocolate biscotti recipe that it much better in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Really good. I didn't have walnuts so I substituted pecans, worked out just as well. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Great biscotti, although I think its more of a Mocha biscotti than a double chocolate. The only negative for me is that the dough is very prone to crumbling. (I am an avid Biscotti baker and this is not something that usually happens for me) the dough itself was really crumbly when it came to making the logs, so I did knead it a little like I would a loaf of bread, which made it a little better. Once the logs came out of the oven and I let cool for 10 minutes I did have a few crumble on me. As always I bake the first time on wax paper. Over all a good biscotti, pity about the crumbling! I will play around a little with this recipe next time, maybe more vanilla will keep it together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Loved these! This was the first time I made biscotti -- it was so easy. I did notice that the dough was quite stiff and dry at the end. I used 1 to 2 ounces of cold coffee instead of the granules. This may have added enough liquid to prevent the crumbling that others mentioned. I also added a few shakes of cayenne to compliment the cinnamon. It was enough to add a tingle of heat without being overt. I would have put in almonds if I had had them, but I found I really liked the walnuts. Will certain make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
These were just ok. They wasn't really anything wrong with them, they just didn't have a great chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States