Double Cherry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I'm sorry, but I did not like this recipe. I used both the frozen and dried cherries, followed the recipe including standing time for 15 minutes. Once completed, I did not like the consistency of the filling. Maybe it was the type of frozen cherries...who knows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Generally speaking I don't care for cherry pie. But this one is different...and I think I ended up eating at least half of it. I used 4 cans of cherries a couple of different kinds and some extra dried cherries. I also used a little extra tapioca because I don’t care for a runny pie. I'm making again for Christmas but may soak the dried cherries in brandy overnight for an extra special treat. Make sure you put a pan under this while its baking...it's messier than most pies I've made. But oh so worth it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I had no problem finding the dried cherries. But the first time I made this I thought it needed alittle more sweetness. The second time I dusted the top with the nutmeg but also with white sugar and a dash of cinnamon. Combined with a crumble top. It was perfect! My future in-laws asked me to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
My boyfriend's mom has made this recipe for a few dinner parties and it is always a hit! The dried cherries give it the perfect tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Really good flavor. However, the pie got really runny after the second day. Too much juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Awesome! Great presentation and flavor. I used 30oz of sweet frozen cherries and 2 cups dried tart cherries. Next time I am going to try making a crumble topping to reduce the amount of crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I've made this recipe three times and all attempts have been flawless and delicious! Some observations: when the filling ingredients are initially blended together, the sugar/tapioca will tend to stay white, dry and separate from the cherries. You'll need to let the cherries thaw some to juice up and soak into the sugar mix. That way, the sugar and tapioca will cling better with the cherries and distribute evenly once spooned into the pie dish. And don't skimp on the 15 minutes rest time because the tapioca needs to soak in the juices before baking. And last, to cut waste I just used 2-12 oz bags of frozen cherries and 1-6oz bag of dried cherries (to avoid leftover ingredients), which brought the volume a little higher than the recipe called for, but it still easily fit into my pyrex pie dish. This addition didn't make the pie runny either...thank goodness! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lilbaker17
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Couldn't be easier to make. A little to sugary for my liking but it was very tasty, liked the use of the dried cherries. I split the 4 cups of frozen cherries into 2 c. cherries 2 c. blueberries took a little less than an hour to bake so make sure to keep an eye on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I agree that this is a perfect combination of sweet and sour. I made mine the night before and had no problems with it being runny. I may have added a few more cherries, since I eyeballed it and was filling up a deep dish pie plate, but it came out great and I didn't change anything else. I buy the dried cherries in bulk and this is a great way to use them up! I love the texture they give to this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is excellent! An easy pie that tastes like you worked all day. A good combination of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States