Double Cheesy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
SO rich and cheesy! I used a cup of heavy cream and a cup of 1% milk, and added a couple of small pats of butter to the mix before I baked it and it came out perfectly. We devoured this with some steak tips and were stuffed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was verrrrrry rich! It tasted great and was a good complement to my pork chops. I had enough for two days after! Not for those with small bellies. My only change was adding a bit more seasoning to the potato layers and sprinkling with basil and parsley to top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Letohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I used a mixture of parmesan cheese and bread crumbs for the topping,along with pads of butter. Placed aluminum foil on dish. Took off for the final 10 minutes. Also added garlic to spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robinana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I made these to go with our Sunday dinner. They were so good! I was cooking a few other things, so I put these in the crockpot. I layered the potatoes, along with thinly sliced onion, and minced garlic, sea salt & pepper. I topped with heavy cream and parmesan cheese. Once the potatoes were done, I topped with cheddar cheese. I was going to take a picture, but they were gone before I could:) I will certainly be making again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I don't think you can go wrong with these ingredients. But I am sorry I had to scale it back. First off I did not need a full quart of cream, used under just 2 cups and about 1/2 cup chicken broth. Second, all I needed to do is layer this, add potatoes sprinkle with parm and butter, some cream and broth and dot with butter, sprinkle with cheddar and repeat layers, I had 3 layers. This is so good I used a mandolin to get potatoes really thin. I will be making this again and again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Whoa...not for the faint of heart or watcher of calories ;) But a really tasty side dish, actually hearty enough to be the main course! My only stray from the recipe was seasoning the potatoes with salt and pepper (and a bit of garlic salt) before pouring the heavy cream and adding the parm cheese. Thanks Robinana =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I scaled this back to suit two people tonight using russet potatoes. I also used half-n- half milk with a pad of butter. Preparing this was easy as was baking it in the oven. I seasoned the potatoes with black pepper and Hawaiian sea salt; layered the potatoes with more fresh shredded parmesan and less sharp cheddar cheese in the gratin dish and then poured the cream over the top. I placed the butter on top and baked as recipe instructed for one hour. This turned out to be a nice rich sauce with cheesy potatoes! This is definitely not “diet” food but a great side dish for our ham tonight. I served this with, “Creamy Sweet Corn,” and “Glazed Ham,” also from this website. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This is so delicious and easy to make! I did add a few pads of butter as suggested. I also put a little garlic in with spices. I added it as a regular goes with any meal side dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is the best scalloped potato recipe I have tried. I had to use up a bag of frozen sliced potatoes so I used it with this recipe. So good. I didn't have that much cream but it was still delish. I added more parm and less cheddar. The parmesan on top made a great little crust. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I made this for an office potluck so increased the recipe by 50%. I did as others suggested - I added butter and garlic salt. Next time I will put a layer of cheddar cheese in the middle instead of just on top. Overall quite rich and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States